Crystal Knives

in #art8 years ago

Good evening steem,

Here are some recent knives I've made out here in the woodlands. Some are magic, some are just for looks. 

Cherrywood, opalite glass and a carved antler skull:

Knapped glass blade, cherrywood handle and a quartz crystal:

Agate blade with a juniper handle:

Jasper and juniper:

Quartz dagger with lacquered bamboo handle:

Small sword knapped from fiberoptic glass, cascara handle with carved antler skulls:

Obsidian with douglas fir handle and a deerskin sheath:

Quartz dagger with crystal point at the base of the handle:

Spear with a damascus steel point and maple shaft:

I make these when I have free time and will post new crafty pictures now and again. 



Sort:  

dragon glass ? hope so; winter is coming!

Nice work man very intresting

I should know by now to stop calling it obsidian. Thank you steempower, hopefully you are prepared.

wow that looks awezome man, well done!

Those are obscenely cool. Thank you for sharing!

Do you flint knap these yourself? The flake pattern is even. I know one thing, if you knapped obsidian, your probably sporting some flakes in your hand and a few cuts as well. What do you use to knap with? My father flint knaps and is one of a handful of people in Wisconsin to do so. Ive watched him do it all of his life. These are pretty sweet. What struck me most is not the knife itself but the quality of the flaking. My Dad uses deer antlers and hes modified them to include a copper tip in some for finer flaking.

I'm still a novice knapper but am slowly getting better. Some of these finer blades were made by my buddy in Idaho who is an expert and is very patient. He uses pressure flaking techniques which is why the pattern is so even.

I was going to ask about the pressure flaking because it looks pretty professional. Cool deal. Nice ware and good luck:)

Will any of these kill whitewalkers?

Wow,

how many hours do you spend to make one of these?

Are some of these sharp enough to be used? (In that case, it could be a very interesting survival skill, I'd be happy to see a post on how they are made)

Have you considered selling them?

It depends on the knife. My best guess is 3-10 hours spent making each knife. There are often times many steps that are completed over the course of days or weeks. It all depends on what's going in the day to day.

They are all functional to some extent. Let's say you have an obsidian spear. One or two uses out of it you've got to knap or flake the point again until its too small to use. Same goes with knives or arrowheads. If you are just using it to harvest herbs or cut up some shrooms, there should be no need to sharpen it.

Glass and obsidian blades are the sharpest. My favorite is agate because it is comparatively a much harder mineral that can get a fairly sharp edge and point.

Knowing how to knap blades is certainly a useful skill. A lot of different materials can be knapped, some are easier than others.

I sell them online and sometimes at craft fairs. Creating things feels good and if I can earn money doing it, even better.

These are some of the most amazing knifes i have seen, i look forward to seeing anymore projects you may have in the future. i especially like the obsidian dagger that curve it has adds so much character.

These look great and very well made. :)

The are really really pretty. Do you sell these anywhere?

Thank you goldencookie. I sell them at craft fairs sometimes and online. My partner and I share an Etsy shop, she makes lots of jewelry. I currently have a few knives and a spear listed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56