You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crystal Knives

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Do you flint knap these yourself? The flake pattern is even. I know one thing, if you knapped obsidian, your probably sporting some flakes in your hand and a few cuts as well. What do you use to knap with? My father flint knaps and is one of a handful of people in Wisconsin to do so. Ive watched him do it all of his life. These are pretty sweet. What struck me most is not the knife itself but the quality of the flaking. My Dad uses deer antlers and hes modified them to include a copper tip in some for finer flaking.

Sort:  

I'm still a novice knapper but am slowly getting better. Some of these finer blades were made by my buddy in Idaho who is an expert and is very patient. He uses pressure flaking techniques which is why the pattern is so even.

I was going to ask about the pressure flaking because it looks pretty professional. Cool deal. Nice ware and good luck:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72