Art supplies survival kit when you're so close to eyes surgery - materials for ArtCraft review:)

in #art7 years ago

Hi, guys!

In one of my previous posts I promised to make a short review about art supplies that form my survival kit at the moment, when I must avoid digital art and have to make everything with traditional mediums, since I'm restoring from the first eyes surgery and preparing for the second one.

By the way want to say a few words about how everything goes after fixing my retina with laser. It's fine:) But still I can't make any serious physical efforts - I immediately feel that my eyes are here. In my head. And they're against such behavior:) But in all the rest - I'm really fine, and can't wait for the second operation.

Now to the survival kit. Here it is:

I want to talk a bit about each item separately. So:

With help of this magical watercolor I create my starry sky on watercolor paintings. I use a rough brush made from pig bristle to splash the white on both: wet and completely dry watercolor. First - to create wide splashes, second - to create dots.

Faber Castell liner, black, size S. This one I use (or similar to it) to create black outline for watercolor artworks.

Three brushes made from columns fur, three different sizes. I use the biggest one to create splashes on wet paper, and the smaller ones to work directly with the objects in my watercolor art. Such brushes combine properties of squirrel and synthetic brushes, they're both: keep a lot of water inside, and at the same time are really elastic.

Set of Faber Castell sepia liners. I use all the set to work with my graphic art.

Set of White Nights watercolor, my "magic wand" in the world of art. My hubby bought it for me when I was only a beginner, and it's still with me. Time to time I replace colors, and the box already looks really "used", but I really love when my art supplies look in such way, it makes me feel more free about using them. So if you fear using your new, super perfect mediums - spoil them a bit first lol:)

Sketchbook with craft paper for my graphic art. A3 size, to have enough space for the fight:)

And bonus:)

A lot of you guys asked me what medium do I use for whites in graphic art. Here it is, showing my secret again:)

It really can write on everything, on regular paper, on watercolor and colored pencils. I highly recommend to have it if you're seeking for some great white:)

So, that's all, all my survival kit for now:) When my second operation will be done - I will be back to digital again. Hope you found this post somehow useful:)

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Wow, that was a great tour through your brushes and paints! I need to get a good watercolor set...and learn how to do some painting. The curriculum I use to teach my kids suggests a nature journal where you paint and draw what you see. I am not the best artist, so it is hard for me to get started. Thanks for sharing what you use!

To get started is easy:) You just sit down and start drawing;) Good luck:)

Stick figures and I don't get along well. ;) I don't guess it has to be perfect. Just keep practicing, right? :) Thanks for the encouragement!

Your publications are wonderful
So beautiful

Thank you, I'm happy to hear it:)

I am not lucking out with inking pens. I keep getting pens and they are dried out, right out of the box. Now I am just procrastinating getting new ones and have been doing most of my heavy line work in photoshop.

You mean they get dry because you don't use them?
I don't have such trouble, I can kill a liner a day just drawing non-stop:)

No like bad luck with buying expensive pens that are dry right out of the box. Maybe one or two of the pens working kinda thing.

That's really strange:( Don't the allow to test it in the store? No all stores do, but some of them...

It is a 2 hour bus ride to the next good art supply store... so I just buy online. Sad but you can get duds.

Oh I see.... Usually I try to go to the art supply store once a month, unless I need something really quickly. But I have one in a distance of hour and a half of walking, so I usually take my dog and just go by feet:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44