Digital Painting is a Pain

in #art6 years ago

For maybe the past week, I've been struggling with digital art. We all know how unhelpful youtube tutorials are. Seriously, there's a difference between speedpainting and a tutorial; back to my point. Recently, I think I've broken through. I was going for cell shade, but it looks more painterly than anything.

Eh, it's whatever.

This is a character from my in progress comic. Her name is Mordecai.

M_DS.png

Note: 7C is my discord tag. This belongs to me.

Sort:  

I'd say you're getting the hang of it really well. She's looking good already. Takes some learning curve to get into it. Heck, I'm still learning to master it, haha.

We all are. That piece took me maybe 5 hours and I didn't even acheive the cell shading look. Guess I still have learning to do lol

I see you're playing with the opacity setting, maybe lowering it more and layering the paint will produce the effect?

I've been playing with the opacity, what's really frustrating me is flatting.

Ah, yeah, flattening can get wonky. I tend to save as a png without first flattening, then work from the png so I can keep the layers separate in case I need to fix something later. Makes a lot of files, but those can be cleaned up when you're done.

Congratulations @idenkcall! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92