The Future Realised Now - An Experiment In Modern Architecture - Influenced by Zaha Hadid

in #art8 years ago

A Constant Experiment


William Ehrendreich
*Profile: Artstation
*Profile: Devianart

My Girlfriend, Lori, would tell you that I spend a lot of my life sitting in front of my computer creating various types of architecture and environmental art. I spend many hours, every day, in the pursuit of my art. I am constantly working on a new skill.

From time to time I experiment with more abstract forms. While there is a lot of breaking of the rules of traditional spaces, there are somethings that extend forward as themes in these forms. It has a very organic flow. Even when they are expressed in sharp angles. There is a ratio to the scale that people like architect Zaha Hadid. Below there is 45 seconds of a turntable animation that I did with one of my recent experiments.

Again this was done in a combination of different programs. I started the building model in 3ds Max. I started with a simple box and moved the vertexes. I am really working hard on those ratios that exist in nature. I am not sure I hit as often as I would like. I am not used to playing with the type of modeling that you have to do to get the curves yet. I think that the overhang on here is too thick. I have not really detailed this the way I normally would have. From the other images of my work that you see here you see that I often use trees and landscapes to help form a contextual narrative.

The work posted thus far is something I have been struggling with for a while now. I have programs for architecture that are some of the best in the business when it comes to developing architecture. I use Autodesk Revit for example. This software can design and engineer everything from a shack to a skyscraper. These type of forms are not as easy for me to work with rapidly with. So I use 3ds Max to sort of churn through them. Perhaps this is a mistake. Maybe the formal architecture is a better idea. It would really make me build out the spaces. I think then the scale would be easier. I will have to consider this in the future.

A True Innovator

Zaha Hadid - 31 October 1950 – 31 March 2016

From Wikipedia:

"Was an Iraqi-born British architect. She was the first woman to receive the Pritzker Architecture Prize, in 2004. She received the Stirling Prize in 2010 and 2011. In 2012, she was created a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire and in 2015 she became the first woman to be awarded the RIBA Gold Medal in her own right."

I would have to say that she is one of the great influences on my sense of form and function. I can't say that I feel I truly appreciate everything she has done. Zahad certainly has impacted my notions of how light fills spaces. Her buildings often echo in my mind when I am lighting and staging shots.

The Future Realised Now

Neo-futurism is an a belief in a better future and a need to give a sense of period to our modern connection technology. It is a optimistic view of the future. It is hopeful. It gives credit both to the organic and mechanical. This form of architecture is often misunderstood. There are some forms that are seemly too exotic for some. While it is not everyone's delight, it does have a lot to teach us about how we see things. It gives us fresh views of perspective and light.

Feeback

I am always looking to hear from my fellow Steemians. Please take a moment to give me feedback about anything that crosses your mind. Lets make this social network, just that, social. Also, if you happen to be of the mind to do so, please upvote and follow.

Sort:  

Nice,
posted about the new harbourhouse in Antwerp today.
https://steemit.com/travel/@nin0000/a-new-landmark-in-antwerp-belgium-from-the-late-zaha-hadid
It's such a fantastic building, just finished two weeks ago.

Thanks for the upvote. I am glad to find more kindred spirits. She certainly is a modern innovator on the level of Frank Lloyd Write. I have heard some of her stuff from Harvard it is amazing.

Also a fan of Frank Lloyd, didn't want to exgaggerate but it's amazing stuff indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85