Architectural Rearticulation - Interpretation of Contemporary House As A Watercolor

in #art7 years ago

Transformation Of Media

Contemporary Country Home Pool Lights Water Color.jpg

Normally the clients that I have want less artistic and more realistic but yet inspiring images of their architecture. Whether it is for a digital set extension or for architectural visualization. The majority of the time these clients are trying to, "sell" the scene. This is true for both my film & tv customers and for the architectural design customers. Most of the time they want to be able to place a person emotionally in a scene in a way that does not suspend disbelief.

So the bulk of the time my work comes out as either photoreal or nearly so. Much of the time it is composited into actual existing settings in both urban and rural settings. Some of the time I do the environment too. Even when I am doing this I am shooting for a certain tangible realism. The desired outcome is a tactile response to the art.

2a_entryway_by_ehrendreich-d9qh0j8.png

Corona National Forest2.jpg

Little scene 2_Perspective_02-01-2017.jpg

william-ehrendreich-south-east-alaska-cabin-living-room.jpg

The Plant Test Render2.jpg

Challenged To Rearticulate Into Different Media

Contemporary Country Home Pool Lights.png

A while ago I displayed some spaceship concept work which inspired @reddust to consider trying her hand at spaceships within her chosen media. While I am a pretty staunch digital artist she does wonderful work in traditional medias. People like @edgarsart and @voronoi and many other have inspired me to stretch my artistic impression of my work. The work at the top of the page is one such example. The image that headlines this section was one of the original work product images that I did for a architectural design customer. As you can see there is a pretty substantial change in realism yet the reinterpretation into watercolor still seems to create a somewhat immersive emotional response to the house.

All of this has made me considering offering my customers a greater range of artistic impressions of their development projects. One of the things that is part of my main mission is to create a narrative for these spaces. In the pursuit of realism perhaps I have forgotten part of the story.

Please Upvote, Follow, & Comment

Steemit has been great for me as a source of inspiration and there are many very talented people on here. Recently I have been working to stretch my boundaries which as resulted in pieces like https://steemit.com/art/@iamwne/the-essence-of-lori-portrait-sketch .

Your feedback and upvote is always appreciated. I really love the interaction that this platform can stimulate so don't be afraid of commenting or even if you like what you see resteem it.

Sort:  

Beautiful art, I think your photographs are beautiful, I admire working free lance artist so much, you have the courage to go your own way.

It has it's advantages. The income is not always steady. The work I do for TV pays the best but it can disappear quickly. Right now I have almost nothing going. I was doing the concept work but that is pretty much done now. The show I used to work on was forced into using all unionized labor so I only get scraps left on the floor from them. Usually if they need something that they need in a hurry and have everyone else booked.

I am sort of a renegade for most of my life. Working freelance is a better option for me as I am not a great employee.

Now I know why I like you😈

beautifull art @iamwne !!!

Thank you. I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77