An Experiment In Compact Living Spaces - Tiny House Movement

in #art8 years ago

How Many Square Feet Do You Need

According to Wikipedia the Tiny House Movement

  • The tiny house movement (also known as the "small house movement") is a description for the architectural and social movement that advocates living simply in small homes. There is currently no set definition of what constitutes a tiny house; however, a residential structure under 500 square feet (46 m2) is generally accepted to be a tiny home.

Enter The Container Tiny Building

As a student and in practice in architecture I am always trying to learn new things about the use and form of buildings. This is not restricted necessarily by size. I am used to a much more large foot print format. I am not sure I see buildings under 200 square foot as easy for more than one person to live in. At other times and in other cultures space has been at a premium for a long time. In the busy cities of Japan it is typical to see apartments that are very small. Studio apartments are not a new concept and many of them are fine if you are alone or willing to live in very close proximity to someone.

I have been watching the tiny house movement for some time. I think that RV and boat manufactures have a significant advantage because they have been making the most out of a small place for a long time. So I have come to the conclusion that any space that you are in that is well organized and has ample storage options is a good idea. And multi use furniture, so called built ins are another key feature that I helps make the space productive.

Some of the most attractive installation to me are ones that feature lots of light. Big windows that are thermally efficient give a sense of spaciousness that is unparalleled. This is not always an easy feet in that under 200 feet mark.

Enter The Shipping Container

I often use a method of blocking out my home and building designs. I typically design based on what I call spheres of intimacy. This is a use case definition of spaces. Like open public walkways and lounging areas in contrast to very private things like the bathroom or bedroom.

Shipping containers are available fairly cheaply when you consider other structural building systems. They offer a way of building modular and strong buildings that are very low maintenance. A full sized container is in the neighborhood of 40' long. They are about 1/4 in width. So when you are using a single box you can make it pretty portable. You are still going to need a truck to haul it. But since you are hauling one you may be bold enough to add a couple more blocks to your setup.

There are some challenges when trying to fabricate passage ways between the units but nothing that can't be overcome by some basic fabrication knowledge. Another challenge can be to create a system of insulation that works for a lot of climates. It would seem the best methods use expanded polystyrene panels or in the best case other low VOC or volatile organic compound. Some research reveals that there are enough options that you should be able to get a good product for your needs.

My Attempts At Beginning Forms

The basic idea with this animation is to simply explore the spaces a little. The concept is containers on the margins of a little courtyard or Japanese style decking. I made a boo boo and the plane that the grass is on is higher than the wood deck that is in place.

It will take me a while to model up the finished project but for now here is a short exploration of the form that I am playing with.

I Would Love To Hear From You

What are your thoughts about the use of small spaces and the tiny home movement? Do you want to live this way? Why or why not? Also if you would be so kinds as to upvote and follow it would be amazing. Also have you considered a repost?

Sort:  

I'm sure with some imagination these containers could go from fugly to amazing. I love the idea of repurposing these things.

I love recycled materials. There is a bunch of these things sitting around the world because they cost money to ship back and with the trade imbalance many containers just sit empty. On the fugly side of things there is a lot you can do to help the appearance. In my models I am using a burnished metal. Many people don't bother much with finish work and like the industrial feel. I am not quite there with containers. I am working on a tent awning for the middle to create and outdoor room. I will place the whole thing on concrete pillars and using wood decking on the outside. Each container will have a louvered overhand to block summer direct sun but will allow winter sun so you get some passive solar help.

I always imagined I could build a container home using a few containers. These would be then lifted on top of some other building. Preferably on top of some highrise :)

I have seen some very modern designs that are done that way. They are riding concrete piers or walls and are elevated beyond the first story. There are several experiments using containers as apartment blocks.

Quite interesting ideea and concept, very good post @iamwne !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65