You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WITH HANDS AND FEET: Sketchbook of a storyteller -

in #art8 years ago

I'd really love to hear how you sketch hair so well. Do you have a specific method, technique, process, etc? Drawing hair scares me lol

I'm stuck on this drawing on her hair. Every time I try on a bit of scrap paper it just isn't working for me. lol

Sort:  

Do you use a kneaded eraser? Cos' those are very handy to draw hair, for example.

Nice drawing by the way and yes I think you should finish it! :)

Thanks! I've got kneaded erasers. How exactly are you using them when you're drawing hair?

I always start with the darkest parts. What's left I draw in different shades of grey. and then I erase the 'light' away.
It is important to always draw the lines of your hair in the direction the hair falls, if you know what I mean?

Oh, and when I 'put the light' in my drawing with my gum, I knead my gum again and again. I erase a few lines and knead it... erase, knead...

Yeah I've always done that but for some reason it always looks like a bunch of lines instead of hair... perhaps I'll give it a go tonight and share to hopefully get an idea what I'm doing wrong. Thanks!