Carving with a cause

in #art7 years ago

I've been living in smaller subset of Seattle for a while now, It's a place called "Ballard". It's an industrial section of Seattle founded by fisherman and tradesmen that has a booming maritime industry. Not long ago most all of the residents lived off the heartbeat of the maritime industry (stevedores, welders, engineers, painters, heavy equipment operators), even the local shops and eateries were aimed at the gruff patrons that resided in the affordable housing just blocks away, the food was fried and having a beard wasn't an ironic statement.
A lot has changed in the last 5 or so years, it was wrong to think that there could be a place close to the city and to the work that helped keep so many business afloat. A place that the people and employees of many of these establishments could afford. The small the greasy spoons and pubs are slowly dying away to make way for "chic" new shops with 20$ hamburgers and 5$ pbr's. The scandinavian houses that lined the suburbs, houses built for families in the 1900's with architecture purveying character and spirit true to the history of the town are being torn down by the hand full to make room for "econo houses" and condominiums that seat four families in the place of one, that sell for close to a million dollars a piece. The single lane roads are congested with no additional parking being installed. The locals are being priced out by the steadily increasing prices on everyday essentials.
I've always enjoyed whittling and woodcarving, and in a area where there are more construction zones then street corners on each block, I'm finding no shortage of leftover building supplies to carve into. I hate the "progress" that forces me to tighten my purse strings further every day. Taking bits and pieces of the lumber from the "progressive" homes isn't making a difference, but it makes me feel better. I hope you enjoy this little carving I did (about the size of a dollar bill) and don't waste your money on one of the 10$ avocado tacos you can buy down the street.
13737093_1778051532445883_1086108743_n.jpg

Sort:  

Very beautiful sculpture.

Haha i like it. Im up in marysville

oh what?? prepare for a follow, good to find another northwesterner

Oh my gosh the lobster carving is so cute ;)

just a little baby

Really cute!

thank you @tangmo!

You're welcome! ;)

very beautiful piece of art the details are amazing and the colors are wonderful and I'll be glad to hear your opinion about it here is the link and hope you'll like it :)
https://steemit.com/art/@othmanesl/harry-potter-drawing

Love the carving it certainly drew me into the post but I also love what you're saying about the idea about locals getting priced out by gentrification. For the last year I've been traveling in my VW Van and have seen it all across the country. It's something I'm really interested in writing about.

thank you @jayjayjeffery. yeah, it's really annoying feeling like you've moved even though you haven't gone anywhere. makes me envy your free living way

The real hypocrisy is that I'm moving back to the same city I left because I thought it was too gentrified. A year of searching for something better only proved to me that it's the same no matter where you go.

that just makes my heart sink

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65021.86
ETH 3571.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33