Trying Out A New Oil Medium - Liquin

in #art5 years ago

In oil painting, there are different mediums and solvents that you can use for various purposes. Oil paint is thick and creamy, so if you want something to make it watery/fluidy, you have to use a certain medium to improve flow and stuff since you can't use water since water and oil don't mix :p. There's a water-mixable oil paint but I heard it isn't recommended as using oil medium is still the best.



The other day, I was researching the proper medium or solvent to use to make the paint to have a watery-like effect. Since I don't want to use turpentine or other solvents because I can't stand the fumes, I've been looking for alternatives. The usual medium that I use is Refined Linseed oil but since we have to follow the "fat over lean" rule to avoid cracks in the painting, I don't think using that is a good idea. :p

I found out that Winsor & Newton's Liquin Fine Detail is a good medium for that. Although it won't give the watercolorish effect that I want to achieve, I still think it's perfect.

There's no Winsor & Newton's Liquin Fine Detail available at the store near me but they have the Original so I decided to buy it instead.


DSC_0002.JPG


So what does it do?


As said in the bottle, it speeds drying and improves gloss. It also improves flow. Great! My brain hurt again when I was studying why the "fat over lean" rule and how it is very important for the chemical components of oil and some stuff so I was so glad that Winsor & Newton claims that Liquin is flexible and you don't have to worry about the "fat over lean" rule yay! I'm an artist and I don't want to be a chemist LOL





Testing It Out


When I first opened the bottle, there's a strong smell already but it's tolerable than turpentine so it's fine. :D

It's so jelly-like when you don't touch it. But when you start working with it, it becomes fluid.


DSC_0007.JPG

The left side is oil paint without Liquin. The right side is the one with it.




DSC_0045.JPG

I can glide the brush easily. Comparing to Refined Linseed oil, I definitely like this better since Refined Linseed oil is too shiny and fluid that I don't like how it dilutes the paint.





DSC_0050.JPG

This looks like one of those blog posts with a title "If You're An Artsy Chic, He May Be Interested In You!" or "Art Therapy: What Else You Can Do To Ease The Pain Of Finding Out Your Boyfriend Cheated On You With His 'Friend' Aside From Confessing To His Dad That He Once Yelled His Mom's Name When You Were Having Sex""


So yeah, I love it so far! Usually oils dry in 2 days but this shit made my paint dry in 5 hours and I can put another layer above it in that short period of time! It's awesome in my case cos I work with layers. :D

Liquin ftw yay!



And here's a portion of a painting that I'm working on:

DSC_0053.JPG

Sort:  

@hiddenblade - beautiful work! And though I'm not a painter I enjoyed ready your post about how the oil additives work. I can see that it would be a great benefit on the drying aspect alone!
@tipU curate 3.0

Thanks! It is really complicated once you read more of them lol. True! Although some artists prefer the paint to not dry sooner so they can still work on it :D

Great article @hiddenblade Your art is great too! I prefer slow drying paint so I use refined linseed oil as my medium because I take rather long to finish my paintings since I do plenty of other work in between my brush strokes.

Thanks! Oh that is nice! When I paint it slow, I lose patience hahah

AMAZING <3...BRAVO !!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

So far this looks awesome. This is your stuff now. I'm a fan of oil painting. This result looks impressive 😉

Haha this has always been my stuff. Thank you :D

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46