Spa Day Tortoise Illustration with Time-Lapse Video

in #art5 years ago

Treat yo self...

A few days ago, I got a serious hankering to do some major beauty care regimens. Since my tax return had recently come in, I decided to splurge a bit on some products to help rejuvenate my tired skin. I felt old and wrinkly and dry and equated myself to a lizard in desperate need of moisturization. The visual that put in my head sparked the idea below, and this time I managed to capture ALL parts of the creation process.

This time around, I did things slightly differently. While I did do the initial thumbnail and concpetualization on scratch paper, I actually created the sketch digitally this time. Usually I don’t do this because I have a hard time capturing the character of my ideas and focus too much on details. Since I’ve already had a bit of practice with the last few illustrations, however, working digitally to sketch is starting to feel a bit more natural. It was also super nice to work with a symmetry divider to get immediate feedback on my drawing accuracy. Obviously this won’t be super useful for subjects that are not facing the audience, but still.

24497FE0-CC53-4C6B-9AD3-F84AD48FE7E3.png

To top it all off, I went crazy with the sticker printing last night and have already got a small set of this lady cut and ready to go. They’re not up on Etsy or Society6 just yet, but they will be once I have an hour or two to go through the whole listing creation process. (I actually have two designs to list for sale.)

45227DE6-DC62-46B2-B30C-35290B36F05A.jpeg

That’s it for now. Thank you so much for continuing to follow me and my work. I have a couple more things I’ve already started/finished to post soon, so thanks for being patient with me. Until next time!

#art #illustration #drawing #ink #inking #animals #animal #reptile #reptilian #turtle #tortoise #tortuga #shell #spa #spaday #relax #relaxation #selfcare #mom #momlife #beauty #beautycare #blog #digital #digitalcolor #creative #creativity #bath #bathtime #sticker #stickers #silly #funny #cute #old #prints #society6 #etsy #patreon #slothicorn #timelapse #process #video #diy #tutorial #youtube



I welcome feedback, so don’t be afraid to leave a comment. If you’d like to see more of my work, check out the links below.


Online Portfolio
Patreon.


YouTube
Chimp Skipper
L. Fox Illustration


Merch
Society6
Etsy


THANK YOU!

Sort:  

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@ Zoe Anavid#9686). This personal addition to my article can be of great value.

You can check out a previous Author Showcase I wrote to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.

Zoe (@curie curator)

@zoexantelamv Thank you so much!

Accounts like @curie do so much for Steemit creatives and have really helped me to find such a wonderful following here. That following has been so humbling as I have recently returned to art as a means to better manage my depression and anxiety after some major life changes in the last few months.

The Steemit community has been an immense source of support and motivation to keep working on my illustrations. I'll always be an artist, but the social aspect of sharing work and receiving feedback makes the process feel more real and alive. Little compares to the satisfaction that comes from knowing people enjoy looking at your work as much as you enjoyed creating it.

Thank you all for giving me such a great place to share my work!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

That is real art my friend! I always love to watch the process as it helps me understand it better and it's also educative. The video is absolutely amazing! I love it!

Thank you so much! I've been trying to document my process as much as possible in preparation for a workshop I volunteered for in May. Once I get it pulled together, maybe I can make it into a tutorial video to share. I DEFINITELY need to get a post showing some of the awesome drawing tools I've picked up over the last 10 years.

Please do because it's definitely helpful. I have no talent, just learning to draw and these videos help me understand the process and learn. Keep up the good work and have a nice weekend 😊

Never a bad thing to make fun of yourself or - to rephrase this - use your own life as inspiration for your art. I will check out the process video as soon as the wifi is up and running again but I’m happy to learn that you’re still around and going strong.

Bom fim de semana! :>)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, the last two illustrations were pulled from art prompts because I was feeling kind of stuck. So, it was really nice to have something come out of real life experience. Thanks a bunch!

I watched the video and must say that the tortoise is far from resembling you. I imagined you drawing it with a towel wrapped around your head, which gave me a laugh! :>)

Just decided to become your very first Patron, as I like your work and style and I think you deserve the support. Also my aim is to not just create more myself but support fellow creatives when and where I can.

One suggestion: why not change your Patreon profile picture to the tortoise? I think it's pretty awesome

All the best and a friendly hug from Portugal,

Vincent

😍Holy cow, THANK YOU SO MUCH!! 😍

I will likely be updating my profile picture in a lot of places with the Tortoise. I just put stuff like that off since I feel like I'm juggling about 25 different accounts right now and keeping up with posting seems difficult enough :P.

You are amazing and I cannot thank you enough, Vincent. I don't know where I'd be without support from awesome Steemians like yourself.

🤗::super big hug a with leg pop from the USA:: 🤗

You're welcome! :>)

And you're thanking me enough already. Juggling 25 accounts sounds insane. Any way to cut down on that?

Lol, 25 was a big exaggeration. I'm working on a weekly schedule to kind of spread it out, but remain consistent across platforms and prioritizing more relevant channels (i.e. Instagram and Steemit).

I get it and yeah it can be tiring. We are juggling enough balls already, in life. Over the last couple of years, I learnt to do less and enjoy it more. Prioritize the things that are actually necessary and make me feel good, as much as I can.

Take care!

xx

I really like how this turned out, @hglucky13. I think it's fun and detailed enough as it is. A tortoise on a spa day really doesn't need a whole lot to get the imagination flowing. :)

Good luck with selling your designs, and congratulations on receiving the upvotes form the C-squared and Curie curation trails.

Thank you so much! This tortoise is definitely my favorite idea in recent history. I’m glad everyone else seems to be receiving her so well, too. :D

What a unique idea and wonderful execution. Great job on the time-lapse too. I love the expression on the turtle face and fantastic simplicity and color. You sure have all the bases covered in your work efforts. Very inspiring!

Thank you so much for the kind words! I've had a lot of practice, but I feel like I learn something new with each drawing. I'm happy to hear I can inspire others. And thank you so much for sharing my work!!

You're great Mom!
How much does it cost each sticker?
I wish you all the best in your journey to life!

Thank you! I’m currently selling my stickers on Etsy for $2.25, but I can sell them directly for $1.50 + shipping costs.

That's great!
I wish you all the best in your work.
Keep it up and more power!

showing every step of this small, but at the same time huge piece of art, is important to visualize for the people with shorter imagination how advance and hard to create is drawing a small tortoise in spa like here :)

Thank you! I really enjoy sharing my process.

I liked the idea that you captured what you are doing in a rather peculiar illustration. I liked the design. well done. It's good that you share your material. I wish you much success in etsy.

Thank you so much for the kind words!

Wooaw.... Lovely art designs. You are really great at what you do. I really loved every second I spent on your blog. You are awesome and have a lot of Creative ideas.
I must confess, you are amazingly amazing.
Keep the creativity spirit flaming

Posted using Partiko Android

You are humbly welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97