Doodling in watercolor stains

in #art6 years ago

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Looking for something fun to draw? Well, I got an idea for you! Searching in the all-holy Pinterest, I found a couple of amazing doodles made from splashes of watercolor (and they were adorable!). Seeing that they looked fairly easy to do, I wanted to try it for myself.

This is a fun activity that everybody can do, no matter what level of artistic skill you have. You can do simple sketches or drawings that are more complex and they will still look great.

I let my doodles as light and easy as I could, so they didn’t take much time. I will show you my experience.

Doodling

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

First, I did some random shapes with my watercolor palette, trying to use all the colors so I could have variety and freedom for creativity. Don’t think too much about how they look, just let them flow.

While they are drying, you have to think about objects, food, animals or characters that resemble these shapes. It doesn’t have to be very precise, it could be anything that sparks in your mind when you look at them.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

For the first row, I decided to draw things based in the color of the stain. Then I got a bit more brave and tried to do things that didn't fit the color criteria.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

In some doodles, I had to look up some free image references so they didn’t look too strange. Most of them are from the top of my head, but sometimes I use real life references so I can learn to draw with the ideal proportions.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I think that when you’re still a newbie, it’s not easy to come up with drawings that are accurate just from your mind. So, you can look up pictures (making sure they are free) to use as a guide and with time and practice, you will learn to do them from your imagination.

Seasoned artists had drew some objects or animals many times, so it’s like a second nature for them by now.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This is one of the reasons of why I had to search a dragonfly, for example, but not the anatomical heart, that I had done multiple times for my studies.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

With the Jigglypuff one especially, I had to refresh my mind with a quick look at this famous and cute pokemon. I must admit that these two are my favorite because they remind me of my childhood.

And that’s it. You can see that they are not strictly fitting the watercolor stain, neither they are very detailed. Yet, I really like how they look, this is a way of “coloring” that I found very pleasing. If you have kids, you could teach them this and have some fun with them.

Now, I’d like to know which ones are your favorites. And if you decide to try to do it, please let me know!

Sort:  

Congratulations you got resteemed!

Resteem your Posts to 6900+ Followers — just send 0.05 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also got a chance of receive a random upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + the chance of daily upvotes!

For more infos read our Vision & Rules and also get you your free Resteem!

Resteem your Posts to 50+ Followers — just send 0.001 SBD or STEEM to @kirbyjr1977 with link in memo (you also got a chance of receive a random upvote)! 5+ random upvote for 24h every post....plus im new join the newbie crew...

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + the chance of daily upvotes!

These are so cool! Love the jigglypuff haha

Hahah thank you, I'm glad you like it!

very inspirational

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55