Genre Mash-ups Are My Thing

in #art6 years ago

BobsBurgersFamilyGuyXmenMashUp.jpg
My greatest love as a Creative is to play with unexpected or unusual genre mash-ups. I really don't know where this comes from other than it's just the way my brain works. It was not a stretch for my GI Joes to become Knights of Camelot back in the mid-late 1980s. It was not a stretch for my X-men knockoff characters to quickly transition from typical Marvel fare to super sci-fi adventures a la Star Wars meets Terminator. And it was not unusual for me to just naturally assume Rambo and all the other action heroes existed in the same universe.
When I decided to transition from toying with things as a hobbyist to making an earnest effort as an artist/writer Creative, my first series of creations were all genre mash-ups.

This pieces was just a fun idea that popped into my head last night, and I really needed the distraction. I did use some reference to get the styles correct, and relied heavily upon the classic X-men #100 cover to inform which characters were where in the image. It was fun to do, and I honestly hope people get a little chuckle out of it. I know not everyone will get all the references, but some special nerds out there (like me) will.

Enjoy!


My #steemgig posting: https://steemit.com/steemgigs/@har5h/create-professional-illustrations-andor-graphic-designs-for-you

Follow my Patreon and become a Patron to see some of these projects come together!

Sort:  

I only know the characters on the left side (the ones wearing the xmen customes). Who are the ones on the right? Pretty cool, yo!

I like doing mashups too. It's pretty fun! ;) You can check a couple I have uploaded to this post.

They are all X-men, but the left side group is composed Family Guy characters and are the original five X-men, and the right side group is composed of Bob's Burgers characters and are the "new" X-men (the second class, basically). The image is an homage to X-men 100, which placed the same characters in the same poses.
Left to Right: Peter Griffin as Cyclops, Lois Griffin as Miss Marvel, Meg as Beast, Chris as Angel, Brian the Dog as Iceman, Stewie Griffin as Prof. Xavier, Louis Belcher as Wolverine, Gene as Banshee, Tina as Nightcrawler, Linda Belcher as Storm, and Bob Belcher as Colossus.
Nice work on the Mario pics, btw!

Thank you bro! I still have to upload more recent works. I don't know bob's burgers, will have to check em out.

Congratulations @har5h! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @har5h! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @har5h! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48