How I paint comics - The Techno-Templar Chapter IV Cover (+ Details & Progress)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_full.jpg

"Tlal" is a character that shows up in the coming chapter of my 100% watercolour sci-fi graphic-novel. Altough she is not appearing naked in the story neither hanging in this machinery, I had this idea in my mind, so I just did it. It then seemed logical to use it as cover illustration.

Here are some details.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_crop_1.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_crop_2.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_crop_3.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_crop_5.jpg

And like usual, I prepared you a little progress report.

The penciling, always of Arches paper 300g. Watered, sticked with kraft paper on a light wood board, dried and tensed. When I do characters, I always need a bunch marks and measurements, which often ends with pencil smudges ... but with that paper, there are no problem erasing, almost everything goes aways.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover.jpg

So, inking phase is done.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_process_2.jpg

Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_process_3.jpg

Painting is on! That's a type of crimson/purple. I really had this colour in mind for that part of the machinery.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_process_4.jpg

If you tried watercolour, you might have it seen sometimes starting to spread uncontrolled outside the shape you're intending to stay in. It can happend because of inferiors layers that aren't dry enough but in my case. It is actually often because of the erasing. When there's been a lot of erasing, it can peel off some of the protective materials they stick in the paper (usually parafine). These products are meant to ensure the right diffusion of the pigment. These products can also go away if you water your paper with warm water, so this is to avoid absolutely.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_process_4x.jpg
At the end I add so many other layers and details that they disappear or are drown in the mass.

Now adding payne's blue for the tubes and other mechanical background, this is also deliberate to make it look like deeper, as it's a colder colour. The "wall" is somehow in the middle tones. This is all athmospheric perspective, even if it's not specially realistic with such small depth.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_process_5.jpg

The body and its tiny reflections.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_process_6.JPG

After the re-outlining and white touch up.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_process_7.jpg

Last stage is the addition of shadows. I must say that with watercolour it is sometimes tricky because it always looks darker when still wet, so I often end up with rather light shadows which sometimes I'd prefered to be darker. I can of course add more layers but I try to avoid it.
Devlok_the_techno_templar_chapter_4_cover_process_8.jpg



Thank you for having read my post! You can find the previous pages by scrolling my profile down.

For more art, visit my official website http://www.haedre.com

If you want more info about the books, here are video flick through.

To acquire them, head there: http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

Committing to comics is hardcore job, consider supporting me and my family by buying my art through http://haedre.com/shop

Or by donating cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks for the
upfostee.gif

Sort:  

Finally published MAP32!

This post has been added to the latest "Six of the Best" New Mapster Contest.
This is to showcase the work of new MAP members.
You can request to join MAP here.
Voting takes place within the MAP chatroom, but everyone can upvote their favourite articles by going to the MAP32 page.

Thanks! I enjoy these behind the scenes posts! Seeing how other people work is much more interesting than the finished result!

Wow your detail is incredible! This is definitely the kind of art I gravitate towards.

Amazing work man, enjoyed very much the detailed process plus how it all comes together and pops out with the final outlines & details 🔥

Hey man! As much a I hate to put art into boxes I have to say; This is like HR.Giger vs Moebius :D..

And I love them both

Even thou I don't enjoy the Gigerish theme of feminine bound by the machine (it is the reality thou) and don't particularly like the mood of this image(the facial expression) I still love your style and technique ! I wouldn't be able to make it better.

It is great to have an insight into how you work and some technological tips.. I think I wouldn't be able to dedicate so much time to painting a single image even thou I know how fulfilling it is to go through this process, so this is inspiring..
My drawing/painting dynamo would need a kick start and some serious dedicated work in order to get going again..

Can the style be transcended?

I love Comix and would love to read your comic book. . 15E is not so much for 56Pages of hard work :D
When I go to Berlin next I would love to pay you a visit! I'm pretty close = in Prague!
Great work, I'm happy to have a quality art to follow on Steemit. Thanks!

Just gorgeous! I love that you are using watercolors for your whole comic.

I didn't realize erasing would cause bleeding... this may explain a few troubles I've had in some of my paintings.

What do you use for your white lines?

Thank you for appreciating and commenting @offbeatbroad. Yes, the best way to avoid, is of course to not erase but having very good paper also helps.
I use gouache, acryl and uni-ball signo white-liners for the white touch-up.

Very nice artwork

It's so great to see the layers build up. There is something magical when you begin to add colour to sketches and inks, isn't there? It's like a timeless zen moment. I'm loving your things so much.

It's really cool!

Deine Bilder erinnern mich immer mehr an Katsuhiro Otomo... und das ist super!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79