How I paint comics: The Techno-Templar #34 (Progress + Details)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Last page of the third chapter from my 100% watercolour, sci-fi and surreal graphic-novel.

Devlok_page_34_crop5.JPG

In the previous pages, Devlok's body is saved in-extremis by Node 32's central control itself, the latter deleting the digital copies of our protagonnists, hence their (or bizarrely only Devlok's) absence of memory. After drowning our hero under unfathomable A.I. justifications like the threat of terrifying other A.I.'s, it explains him the role of the capsule. Adding that his faith brought it on his path, to create a being that'll balance the universe ...

Devlok_page_34.JPG

Details.
Devlok_page_34_crop1.JPG

Devlok_page_34_crop2.JPG

Devlok_page_34_crop4.JPG

Devlok_page_34_crop3.JPG

"Delok, The Techno-Templar" is a techno-fiction taking place in the farthest future you've ever read about. It is beyond machines revolution, beyond the interstellar travels and far beyond the domination of our super-cluster...

Ok, back on earth, to the office, in my lovely former Stasi (secret services of ex-GDR) neighborhood for a very grounded story-board.
Devlok_page_34_ST.jpg

Paper has been watered, tensed on a board. It's dry and set, let's pencil! In this ship, there are two vanishing points.
Devlok_page_34_process_1.jpg

Now inking the ship and started to erase the pencil, to see a bit better.
Devlok_page_34_process_2#.jpg

Then peniciling the background. This page has no panels, so it was faster to do than other ones that have complicated constructions and many characters. And I am quite confortable with spaceships.
Devlok_page_34_process_3.jpg

Now everything is inked, I think.
Devlok_page_34_process_5.jpg

Here I haven't used masking fluid. It'd be very handy but there are simply too many of these tubes, it would have taken too long. So, I am doing it "the old way", filling every spaces. It's quite tricky and it needs to be done fast.
Devlok_page_34_process_6.jpg

Now adding white lines and some sort of shining objects.
Devlok_page_34_process_7.jpg

After the "re-outlining" process and some shadowing (there aren't much shadows as there is quite a diffuse light and the tubes and spaceship reflections are doing a good job already).
Devlok_page_34_process_9.jpg

It's done! After that, I cut the image from the kraft paper, scan it and add thought bubbles and the rest of PS.
Devlok_page_34_process_8.jpg



Thank you for having read my post! You can find the previous pages by scrolling my profile down.

For more art, visit my official website http://www.haedre.com

If you want more info about the books, here are video flick through.

To acquire them, head there: http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

Committing to comics is hardcore job, consider supporting me and my family by buying my art through http://haedre.com/shop

Or by donating cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks for the
upfostee.gif

Sort:  

Amazing again @haedre! You create really good posts and I keep resteeming them ofcourse ;)

Thanks for the support and appreciation!

Beautiful post with beautiful art, as usual, @haedre ! You are amazing ! I love all of your spaceship stuff <3 Incredible detailing and perspective and colour work <3 <3

Yep I susbscribe to what @veryspider says 😃
Really awesome art you do!

Cool stuff! Following you.

So much talent!! Your work is awesome !

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Beautiful! Love the slight hint of rust on the tubes. I was always so intent on looking at your process, that I never noticed that the comic was also in French?!

Thanks @manouche =)

Yes, it is originally written in French, my mother-tongue but usually printed in English first.

Aaah! Okay, cool. Next time I'm in Europe, I'm definitely getting my hands on one of those french copies :)

Nice work, interesting to see how it got to the final product!

Thanks for pulling back the curtain! It is always interesting to see how art is made, it is not always obvious to people who don't work in the same field!

Glad you're appreciating that @bengy!

O_O Incredibly amazing work, I can not imagine how much time was spent. I also dream of someday starting to draw comics :). As soon as I raise my skill of drawing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50