Cybernetic nightmare | A ballpoint pen artwork (+details)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

cyb_night_dtail 6.jpg

A totally wired being trying to escape a poly-nano-electronic dream.

cyb_night.jpg

This is for @carlgnash who seemed interested to see earlier works I was qualifying as being more "tripping". This one was drawn in 2012, when I was still doing only black and white. The size of the original piece is 50x70cm (19,6x27,5 in) and it is entirely made with mitsubishi pilot black ballpoint pens on bristol paper 300g.

For this kind of drawing, there is no preparation, no pencil or anything. It comes naturaly from a "vision" that after some reccurence becomes drawable and pleasant enough to be "solidifed" on paper.

Unfortunatelly I don't have any pictures of the progress but here are a few detail shots.

cyb_night_Detail 1.jpg

cyb_night_detail 2.jpg

cyb_night_detail 3.jpg

Thanks for your visit!

For more art, check my official website http://www.haedre.com

You can also support me through http://www.patreon.com/haedre

Or directly with cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks again! Please consider to
upfostee.gif

Sort:  

Amazing that you can draw all of these overlapping tubes without doing a pencil sketch first! Do you use whiteout if you make a mistake?

Glad you like it, thanks! I did a lot of these illustrations with drown-in-tubes creatures so I guess I am really used to the overlappings. Never used witheout with the B&W works. Actually there are a few that I don't know how to finish because of big mistakes. Maybe I should just wiheout them and finish, even if the original would have stains or touch up, at least I could use the copy.

I used to do airbrush illustrations on special white boards for advertising. If I made a mistake, I would have to sand the board, or cut out a section of the top layer of paper and patch it with another piece! Your idea of using a copy for the B&W, after repair, is a good one.

Wow! But I guess so long people are not supposed to stick their eyes right on to it, there's no problem with "fixing". In the case of my B&W works, it is part of the concept that they must be flawless, as they should look like they has been done by a machine or so.

With the watercolor I somehow have more freedom. Not long ago, my kid actually drawn over an almost finished inking step of a piece that was further going to be painted. So I scanned it (hopefully it was smaller than A3), remove the "damage" with photoshop and then went to a company to print it on watercolor paper, then I could continue the process.

I anyway sell more copies of most artworks so in some cases if I at least have a good file, that's more or less ok. Just that I probably wouldn't exhibit the original.

For comic it is also less problematic, as the final product is the book. But again, I like to exhibit the originals.

Ohh, did you also only draw in b n w? LOVE how intricate this is. It's crazy to see because you are so good with colour!

I still find it difficult to move beyond just pen and ink. It's my comfort zone.

Yes, for around 15 years. Then went back using colours since around 3 years. Various reasons and a box of watercolours that was hanging around, just asking to be used. Was a great decision!
b&w was also a comfort zone but colour gives me an ease for other things.

I feel you. Recently got myself a small box of watercolours and I'm really enjoying rediscovering colour with them.

I'm so happy that you had a box of watercolours around because your bnw is amazing but the templates you post regularly are in a whole different (and better) league. Can't wait to see more!

yes, with the colour my approach so far was totally different, more so to give me a freedom of letting random parameters act (something that especially watercolour offers). Now my goal is to really have the same "flawlessness" the B&W works had but with the coloured works. I am a bit in a transition period :D

Is 'flawlessness' a sense of control even over the random parameters of watercolours? I'm not anywhere close to how good you are with watercolours but when I use them, I always start with having a vision of the final outcome and it's almost NEVER the same thing. Sometimes I like it, sometimes I don't.

Also last question! - What do you post process your work on? It always looks like it's ready to hit the printers!

Good point, with watercolor you can of course achieve a masterisation of the parameters, how dry it is, how concentrated the paint is, leaning etc... to achieve a desired effect. So I guess we could say that you could reach something called "flawlessness" through random processes. haha, dunno if means anything.

I also always end up with something different than what I plan, I mean, yeah in some cases, for instance with comics you might have some constraints. Now I think that both are satisfying and necessary to another, ending with exactly what you wanted and still surprising yourself.

I have decent scanner but it's not the high class, so I always slightly turn the levels up and also a bit of black with the selective color on PS.

I think there will always be an element of surprise with watercolours. Totally understand what you mean by mastering the art of the flawless though randomised processes.

I also learnt recently that in 'art therapy' for people with autism, crayons and more 'soft' media, like watercolours, are given to those who feel a need to control their environment. And as they make progress, they're slowly allowed to use pencils and pens.

In any case, pen or watercolours, it's interesting to see how you use both. Big fan, if that's not obvious already!

Exactly ;)

I know people who do that and they do huge watercolours paintings. Very abstract with very diluted colour.
Didn't know about the autist learning technique, sounds interesting!

Maybe this being came from the same dimension as the Pale Man from Pan's Labyrinth :]

I tried several times to watch this movie but somehow always got tired of it even if I love its esthetics, so I coun't tell but why not, everyone can interpret ;)
But I love these thematics of a future where the borders between human, machines, virtual and reality would totally blend.

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

You're pretty quickly becoming my favorite artist on steemit!

Glad to hear that, I am honoured ;)

Wow i love this, @haedre !!! Reminds me of old GUNNM art and feels... * ___ * Very, very cool <3

upvotes

Oh GUNNM! (Such a better title than "Battle Alita" btw) What masterpiece, the best scenario (and illustrations of course) of the (cyberpunk -> far future apocalypse) genre!! It really inspires me so much. My dream is that there could be a video game one day where you could do motorball and customise your nano-based cybernetic body!

OMG we have such similar tastes in comic / art / manga XD Jodorowsky at first and now classic GUNNM * ___ * AND OH YES PLS MOTORBALL would be crazy fun to be made into a video game concept * ___ *

Indeed! Classics of cyberpunk and sci-fi of the last 50 years! Let's not forget BLAME! AKIRA, GHOST IN THE SHELL, DRUILLET, BILAL, ..... haha there are a few :D

You see these drone racing competition? They do have something from the Motorball, I can't wait this to go more mainstream and be able (like in GUNNM), to get a seat where you can stick your head in googles and follow the race through the eyes of the pilot!!!! These drones might even soon be able to fight and destroy themselves, ... a violent spectacle but .. can be fun so long it's just "toys".

OH YES i love Blame! and AKIRA and Ghost in the Shell!!.... And I will now have to check out Druillet and Bilal :D

Have you read Kishiro-sensei's other works? Did you read CRASH KING SNEV? it's a fun story!!

Hey no I don't know CRASH KING SNEV! Must check that, thank you =)

oh man, i think you're going to like it :D let me know once you've read it <333333

Thank you!

Great drawing, checked out your others and am very impressed. Looking forward to more!

@haedre Broooo your Art is straight Fire 🎨.

Can't believe you drew that up with a ballpoint pen!!!

Thanks for your comment @daddyku! Glad you dig it.
Haha, yeah, ballpoint power ;)

WOW thats some amazing and detailed art

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70