🎨 Town in a Tree - Original painting in acrylic and oil

in #art6 years ago (edited)

This was the first version of my Town in a Tree series. The wooden surface of the tree was made with a Frottage technique. I used the texture of a plank from the old wooden flooring at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna where I was a student back then. The landscape was inspired by the Rax Mountains in Lower Austria.

d1.jpg

Town in a Tree, 1990
Acrylic/oil on paper/wood
21 x 21 cm / 8.27 x 8.27 in
Private collection / Austria

Details
d2.jpg

d3.jpg

d4.jpg

You can see the second version of this motif in my previous post.

Thanks for upvoting and commenting!


www.gric.at

Sort:  

Kinda cool .. De Chirico often used this motif where he put architecture inside figures, or landscapes inside rooms, to be more metaphysical, often suggesting ancient Roman ruins

De Chirico and Delvaux are my favorite surrealists. I was always hypnotized by the timeless atmosphere of their visions.

Really effective. I love frottage, haven't done it in a few years, but have done grave rubbings to use in my print making, It is fun.

This was the first and only once I've tried it.

Man. I love the figures of bodies insinuated in the tree and also the detail of the face. Does it have a color palette a little different from the one you handle? Is it something like an arid environment on a clear day?

A wonderful city with rugged textures, fine lines and good taste.

The only way it could get better was if it had boobs... oh wait!

Yeah, boobs are absolutely essential architectural elements! :-)

For me, I like more the first version than the second version. It is a question of tastes. Wonderful details, great job.

It is great...i can see all the details...wonderful...

lieber Peter, ich möchte dich freundlich um deine erlaubnis bitten, dieses bild in meinem post verwenden zu dürfen. darin geht es explizit darum, einige besondere künstler hier auf steemit vorzustellen, so auch dich. und für jeden möchte ich gern ein aktuelles bild zeigen. es würde mich freuen, wenn du einverstanden bist. lg

Gerne! Danke @pawos!

cool. danke sehr. post wurde veröffentlicht. schau vorbei! lg

Amazing work. You can admire every detail of the work. Inspiring without a doubt. Thanks for sharing.

Very orijinal art. very different composition. I like the integrity of your art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67