Space-Warp Machine - a four-dimensional acrylic painting

in #art7 years ago (edited)

But thought is only a reaction, a response of memory and thought breeds time to cover the space between what is and what should be. The what should be, the ideal, is verbal, theoretical; it has no reality. The actual has no time; it has no end to achieve, no distance to travel. The fact is and everything else is not. There is no fact if there's not death to ideal, to achievement, to an end; the ideal, the goal are an escape from the fact. The fact has no time and no space.

-- Jiddu Krishnamurti's Notebook


Space-Warp Machine, 2010
Acrylic on fiberboard
25 x 50 cm / 9.84" x 19.69"
Private collection / USA

This piece was the first version of my Space-Warp Machine series. The geometry is based on a truncated hexacosichoron (600-cell) – a regular 4-dimensional polytope generated with Fritz H.Obermeyer's Jenn3D software.

Here are some of the test renderings for the underlying 3D-geometry (actually 4D projected into 3D):
jenn3d_01-01-c02.jpg

Details of the finished painting:


Thanks for upvoting and commenting!

Sort:  

That quote... whenever the artist's inspiration is materialized in physical form, it's original idea is lost. Inevitably, parts of the idea are lost as well, since there are practical limits to what an artist can achieve in physical form, according to the used medium. The idea is "corrupted" by giving form to it. But, there are so many things to try today...

An artist can use a plethora of methods to communicate, not limited any more to one chosen medium: a painter can draw inspiration and base his work on 4-dimensional projections like you just did, or representation of imaginary numbers (fractals). Artists can supplement their works with sound, video, odors, performance, etc. The bridge between imaginary concepts and physical representations is narrower than ever before.

I wonder, how long is it before the artist can let us experience the exact idea he has in his mind and imagination, instead of just a representation of it?

Great work as always, very original and thought-provoking.

Thank you @nyarlathotep for your thoughts!

Great artwork as always from you @gric!
What a cool idea to use Jenn3D for the base shape.
I have created similar shapes in Incendiary using that kind of algorithm.
You always make me look for the intricacies of details in your art! Wonderful!

Wow that painting is stunning, i never thought about building the base of a painting with a software thats great!
In my opinion and my philosophy thoughts have no space and time and are the material everything is based on, but it's a nice quote!
I just released my second post, i would be happy if you check out my art and leave your opinion as a comment :)
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!
Liked& followed, feel free to support my beginning on steemit by following me aswell :)

Zu spät gesehen das du auch deutsch sprichst :D aber ein bisschen übung schadet nie^^

Danke :-)

Mesmerizing! :) I love your artwork, you're amazing with details and maestro of colour (I was musician :) ). That reflection is making it so real and strong structure of machine makes you feel like your almost there...
Thank you for sharing this beautiful artwork! I hope you never run out of inspiration and always keep on with creation and distribution of beauty! :)

Pretty ingenious idea working off of a 3D model to get the perspective spot on. Feels like I can almost step into the painting. Following to see more of your content!

If you're interested we are running a general creative contest called creativeschallenge I think you could place top three for sure :)

I think you made that software look a whole lot cooler. Nice art piece.

Thank you!

Always enamored by your work

This painting reminds me of the "runcible" a bit of faster-than-light tech invented in a story by a man granted AI-assisted powers before losing them all.

I like the mathematic-renderings, your painting captured the complexity beautifully.

Oh this reminds me so much HR Giger artwork. I am a huge fan and i amazed by your artwork:)

Cool work. I think it would be nice if you could make a tutorial on how you create this awesome paintings using 3D.

I will also post some progress videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46