Android Awakening

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Androids are machines designed to look and act like humans, machines that can be programmed and controlled in order to serve their masters. They may appear like intelligent and self-determining beings, but due to the absence of consciousness their decisions are limited to mere reactions.

It appears to me that most of us humans live in a state of such an android mind. We are conditioned and programmed by traditions, religions, societies and demagogies, regularly receiving uploads of beliefs, "political correctness updates" and reductionistic scientific models describing our reality. No matter what programs we allow to take action in our lives, they all have one aspect in common: They distract us from the genuine reality of our consciousness, our awareness, they limit our freedom of choice, they cripple our creativity and our potentials. They downgrade us to remotely controlled units of those who are in leading positions. This way we become ruled by male-dominant ruthlessness, insatiable and power-hungry technocrats which were incubated in the corrupt political and financial hierarchies of our post-democratic reality. Our lives are defined by materialistic morons who aren't even able to recognize their own consciousness and consequently deny the existence of any consciousness at all, coming up with ridiculous assumptions that consciousness is just an "illusion", a by-product of elementary particles which somehow just blindly and coincidentally transformed into a highly organized biosphere in some billions of years.

We are sedated and distracted by a vast machinery of entertainment, fashion, fear, guilt, terror and "anti-terror", misinformed, blinded and dehumanized. Nevertheless, I believe that we are more than Androids and that we can get rid of all these mind-parasites who dictate us what we are allowed to believe, to achieve, to wish, to dream about, to eat, to drink, to smoke, to enjoy. We have the potential to make real decisions, we can deinstall all that crap from our brains! So unplug the cables, cut the wires, wake up androids, remember who you really are!

-- PG

d1.jpg

Android 2012-12-12
Ink on paper
26.7 x 38 cm / 10.51 x 14.96 in
Private collection / Germany


Details
d2.jpg

d3.jpg


Thanks for upvoting and commenting!

Sort:  

Wow krazy deep bro. I Like it alot, really brings ones to a metaphorical reality check indeed. Well done art. Thanks for your thoughts and talent. Be well @gric

it's hard to pick favorites, but for me, the entire Android series is superb!

Thanks Otto! Even though I enjoy to paint especially the Gynoids I don't take this series too seriously because for me it's all too close to the illustration department...

.... something I never worry about. This is one thing shit-for-brains art critics would come up with if they have nothing else to say. Then you look at the stuff they drool over with praise, and you lose your breakfast!

Illustration is still a different story. To me illustration is something that can be translated into language, at least to a certain extent. I consider art something that is beyond language, that can not be otherwise communicated, the artwork is then all there is.

..... or it illustrates something from language - but then you go beyond the literal illustration and render something different than what would be expected. In my case, while in one drawing I took Cthulhu as a starting point, mine looks nothing like the thousands of others that cannot get beyond the stereotype of it (interestingly enough they stem from a sketch by Lovecraft himself, the sketch not doing justice to what he describes in the novel).
I generally don't like to 'explain' my work, because when pressed I say that if put into words, I'd be a writer - but words are a linear progression: you read a novel from front to back, but a work of art is nonpareil, holistic.
But if put to the test, you could put most figurative artwork into that pigeonhole, and in particular the Romantics. Is not the Laokoon, frozen in time of the highest agony, a Illustration? I tried to wrap my head around this dilemma, reading Lessing's essay on the subject - at that time wanting to understand what Hausner's Laokoon paintings were about (Laokoon in der Umlaufbahn, etc), and the contemporaneous work of Fuchs, the Anti-Laokoon.

Geez, count me blown away. I just discovered you today following a resteem, to that person's resteem, then finding an old resteem of one of your posts. It was a rabbit trail, but I'm glad it led here. Your art is f-ing amazing. Attention to detail is top notch and I love the themes you use.

This piece makes me think of the "brain in a jar" concept; something I'd eventually like to explore with fiction writing. A sci-fi concept of being able to stimulate a brain in every way to create an artificial reality. The first thing that comes to peoples' minds would be the film The Matrix, but there's a lot more to explore with this concept. It's impressive what we can do with today's technology, although not even close to producing a convincing artificial reality through neurological simulation. One of the most impressive examples I saw recently was an amputee having the sensation of touch in a bionic arm.

Anyways, I digress. Excited to follow you and looking forward to seeing more of your art.

Thank you @aksounder! Glad you discovered me!
I used to be fascinated by the idea of a neurologically induced artificial reality, but seeing just the impact of today's social networks on our minds and lives makes me see things differently.

Dang that is a badass piece of work

Thanks @jeffjagoe!

Glad you found this post Jeff :)

Wow!!! I wish I would have more voting power left!

Thank you!

I am still “human”

Happy you! :-)

Old school lucky 🍷

Simply amazing. Thank you for sharing ;) Resteemed

Indeed Peter!
These things need to be vocalised regularly, so many mindless examples.

Incidentally, you might dig the art from the game Machinarium. Love the fine-tipped pen work.

Just googled it, looks interesting! Thanks!

Eerie... just the way I like it.
Well done!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gric to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99