Digital Art Showcase proposal

in #art7 years ago (edited)


Source

I am, as you know, interested in 3D modelling and digital art. I believe that having communities on Steemit will help towards curating the vast number of digital artists here, but in the meantime want to do something to help bring the digital art community together.


Source

What I propose is a weekly showcase of digital artists, featuring the best you artists have to offer. Not just 3D work but all areas of the digital realm - photoshop work, digital painting, video editing and effects, everything and anything designed or created on a computer.


Source

To encourage this I am considering awarding a weekly prize - to be decided in the planning - for various categories: 3D, photo editing, digital painting, video etc... voted on by the visitors to my digital art showcase posts. It will I believe also give you and your work further exposure and opportunities to gain followers, commenters and votes. All entries will be resteemed by me and I will encourage other readers to do so too.


Source

What do you think of this idea? Are there categories that you think should or should not be included? How much do you think a fair prize for each should be - bearing in mind that my wallet is not huge :p Do you think this would help the digital art community here?

Also, if you are or know a digital artist leave a message below for me to follow. I will gladly add you - note that I WILL check your blog first so no follow for follow posts please ;-)


I look forward to any comments. Please share this post with anybody involved in the digital arts, I would really like to gauge the interest



Click the picture to read about my steemgigs service - English proof reading - if you need help with spelling or grammar


Sort:  

Obviously I'm biased for digital since that's my only practical medium. I've just gotten started here on a steemit but have a handful of decent samples already and of course always looking for an excuse to post more!

Excellent! I follow you so I can see your work

Yes! Make this happen...

From the great amount of interest shown I think this is a definite go!

Yeah, you should! Right now it's all about photo and painting showcase/contests. Bring the digital!

Yes, we need to represent 😁

I think it'l be a hit mate. Loads of digital artists on Steemit.

I was thinking of doing this myself - great idea! There's so much artists can share and people can learn, not to mention being a great showcase of talent - proven and blossoming.

I'm a noob here and have been sharing some of my Zbrush work, with more of my portfolio going to be added as I learn how Steem works. I've followed you to keep abreast of this project, will you check out some of my work and give me a follow back? @imagin8orr

Let's do this! How can I help?

Thank you! I have been pondering this for the past week. I believe it could help unite the digital art community if done right. Any help? All ideas are welcome if there is something you think is missing in my outline and of course once it is set up I would appreciate a heads up on related content on Steemit. I'm bound to miss some searching alone. If you have any ideas feel free to drop them here or start a private chat with me anytime.

Followed you back, always looking for more digital artists. I will have a look at your blog too.

Awesome, thank you. If you're familiar with Daniel Pink's work on intrinsic vs. extrinsic motivation, he talks about how the "carrot and stick" model of rewards (do this, get hat) doesn't work well for creative endeavors.

I think that artists will be happy to share for the exposure and community interaction more than any particular payout. They'll get rewarded on their posts anyway, so providing a cash prize may not be needed.

Maybe the first contest is to design badges or award graphics for the future winners? This could be done for each series of contests.

Potential categories could be as you suggested - 3D, photoshop, illustrated, motion fox, etc.

What other art contests are there that we could emulate? I'm a noob and have only seen the redfish one. I think there's a good opportunity to do a digital showcase series, what are your thoughts?

Some great suggestions. I wouldn't be able to offer too much by way of a prize at this stage so maybe the extra exposure is sufficient. Maybe collate all entries and base the winners off the amount of votes and resteems they get?

I like the idea of a contest to create badges and maybe graphics to be used in the Showcase post. I thought maybe every week do a competition on a given subject or category and do an artist of the month feature

I'm going to noodle on this a bit more. I think we've got something here and I'd love to come out of the gate with a strong plan to make this a success for all involved. I have a lot of experience managing creative communities elsewhere and will bring that to this project. Let me sleep on it and I'll get back to you tomorrow. Thanks!

Thank you for your support and enthusiasm, much appreciated.
Open to all suggestions and offers of help - especially from someone with some experience

Have you checked out chainBB yet? It could be a great platform to start this on...

No I haven't. I will investigate, thanks

Hey @gmuxx if I wish to learn it from scratch, what sources do you suggest?

It largely depends on which field of the digital arts you are interested in pursuing. In my case I have made full use of YouTube to learn my 3D modelling skills, Gumroad tutorials and those from Digital Tutors (now Pluralsight)

Thanks. Will have a look, after all every expert was once a newbie :)

Exactly. I myself am no expert but have dabbled with 3D off and on for a few years. It just takes time and dedication.

I find that trial versions of programs and a little red wine provide for a marvelous self-directed
classroom.

This is a great idea, I'd love to be a part of this . I'm just getting started on Steemit but have tons of my own digital art to post or submit! Maybe it could be a new category each week? Just a thought. Upped, resteemed, and followed. Lets get this going :)

Thank you for your suggestion. It would keep it simpler for sure to have a different category each week!

Thank you for the resteem, the more people see it the better idea I will get.

Followed you back ;-)

I'm a bit rusty on the design side I'll be honest but I'll give it a go.
I've seen a few competitions where you set the post to 50/50 and dish out the liquid steem as you see fit, but keep the steem power for yourself as a commission for running it. It may be that you want to cash 'some' of that in as maybe a monthly prize or longer term but I don't think it's needed.

Awesome contest idea @gmuxx! Can't wait to see the entries and maybe toss in one myself

Excellent! I'm liking how much interest is being shown so far.

Interested. Don't exactly have the biggest wallet either but happy to chip what i can to help prize wise 😊

Great to have your interest and thank you for your kind offer! I am hoping the Showcase posts can generate enough for prizes but I know where to find the bank of @ryivhnn should the need arise 😁

LoL XD How big were you intending on having the prize pool? From the initial interest it looks like the showcase posts will probably do the job after all :D

But I'm still happy to bump where I can XP

I was thinking maybe 10 - 20 SBD initially, unsure to be honest. Open to suggestions

If you wanted a round number you could round the post proceeds up to the nearest 10 maybe XD

Or maybe a totally voluntary entry donation of 1sbd/steem? (totally voluntary for people who want to help spread the love and some especially new steemates may not have built up to that yet)

10-20 is heaps considering it's a showcase :D

Would asking for a voluntary donation work do you think? This would go in the prize pot naturally.

People do it for some of the other games/comps that are running around the place so I'm sure some will. One way to find out ;D

Good point :)

This seems really facinating will watch and follow

Nice demon art share @gmuxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39