You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I paint sequential art - The Techno-Templar #22

in #art6 years ago

Well, I suppose you could have gone very simple. I tend to like detail, even if it may not be useful, just because, too me, it means the artist was interested in what they were trying to portray and that they were willing to take the time to do it. In graphic novel art, or comic book art, there always seems to be a deadline, which is why I asked about how long it took, since I could see by this one page that you weren't rushing to meet a deadline. Unless you're super, super, ultra fast, which would be awesome!

I've had very limited experience with drawing (all when I was much younger), but trying to make things 'perfect,' or what I interpreted as perfect, took up way too much time, and in the end, it didn't really show. The observer wasn't going to see the countless hours spent.

I've had more experience in attempting to perfect what I've written, which is very much a similar thing, although currently, being minimalist, or telling the story in as few words as absolutely necessary is more en vogue, so the perfecting comes in the paring down to the bare minimum, something I don't think I like so much. I understand the reader should use their imagination, so that's fine, I guess, but I'd like them to see what I see, too.

With art, you can portray exactly what you see, if you can get what's in your mind to manifest through your fingers onto the screen or the page.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70