You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paintings on Handmade Paper

in #art6 years ago

Now, regardless of outcome with your art, since that's going to be an eye of the beholder deal, you get major points for even attempting to make your own paper. That's awesome. And then do something with it. That's even more awesome.

I feel like I have been wasting my life. Why haven't I tried making my own paper?!

I'm glad I stumbled upon this. Any story behind painting MMA/wrestling/boxer types?

Sort:  

I don't know why you haven't tried making your own paper. But don't say I didn't warn you :)
Thinking back, the inspiration for these paintings was a comic called Arriba! The Parkdale Wrestler, by Stacey Case and various artists. Couldn't find anything about it online. Got the copy tucked away somewheres... In the meantime here's one of the Parkdale Wrestler Super 8 movies.

Super 8—nice. Okay, well this explains a lot. I was thinking you might have been into pro wrestling or boxing, and I guess you may be, given you've got the comic book. It's fascinating what we all end up using as inspiration for the things we create.

Well, I definitely remember the days of Hulkamania... And Andy Kaufman.

The sweet science has always had an appeal to me, but I never followed it religiously.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97