You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STREET ART #30 – When street art changes the appearance of a city

in #art5 years ago

Hey, @digi-me.

That all looks amazing. And most of it is so huge! I would imagine it took days with some of them, or dozens of manhours if there were more than one working on them. The fact that they can be painted over and something else put in their place is also cool. It changes the look of the building and the area around it, keeping things fresh and new.

I've never been a fan of tagging or graffiti. I think it shows a lack of respect. However, street art is some of the best and beautiful works of imagination and creation that I've ever seen, and when done on such scale, it just elevates everything in its vicinity.

My family on my Dad's side came to the U.S. from Denmark several generations ago. I've never been, but it's on the list of places to visit. Now you've given me more reason to go. :)

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment. Yes, most of them are huge, covering the whole wall. Since the inner city (also the historic part of town) it is easy walkable. At the same time you do a historic walk, you will come across many, many murals as well. You do not need to do a street art tour first and doing the historic later. They can be combined.

Yes, once graffitti was considered vandalism. To day is popular. Now you can do guided walking tours in most cities just to see street art. The way we look at it has certainly changed.

I am originally Danish. Born and raised just outside Aalborg, but living in Norway. But I often go there to visit family. If you haven't been there, maybe it is time :) It is a small country, travelling is easy. Hope you do some day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91