Bird Exposure Therapy - Shit Just Got Real.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

No amount of drawing birds and looking at images has prepared me for the free ranging reality of The Farm-stay.

We have arrived!!

Ducks, Chickens, Turkeys, Roosters, Geese, some kind of weird looking spotted fowl and Enormous Roosters!

All cruising around together, pecking, squawking, clucking, scratching, flapping and fighting or is that loving... I'm not sure, but it is pretty freakin' scary!

I couldn't even pick up a feather in the street yesterday. What am I doing?

The house we are staying in has it's own Hen house!

Yay!

Complete with the most enormous rooster. I have been told that I may open the gate to this domain, and help myself this beasts freshly laid young in the morning. The farmer assures me that even if the egg is fertile, at a day or two it would only be a cluster of cells, unrecognisable to the naked eye... Good to know.

This is the Duck / Goose inspired by @azurejasper's photo.
This benign doodle, resembling the painted wooden variety, is a far cry from my current reality.


https://steemit.com/steemitphotochallenge/@azurejasper/steemitphotochallenge-entry-duck-duck-goose

It is my hope that within the next few days, I will muster the courage to actually hold a chicken.

On the eve of the new year I am heading into my second year volunteering with Bravehearts. An Australian organisation that supports Survivors of Childhood Sexual abuse.

I believe that bravery can only be born from fear. If something is easy then it can't be deemed brave. So I am going to face my long standing Ornithophobia and spend a week on a free range bird farm.

If my great feat of bravery greatly impresses you, perhaps you would like to checkout my humble Bravehearts page.
I will elaborate more on my 2017 Bravehearts endeavours soon.


Thanks for checking out my post.
This is our 2016 Bravehearts Story. It's my proudest work, looking back on the year, I would love to share it with you.



Sort:  

Love the bird/goose drawing. Good luck with facing your fear. Read about Bravehearts and you are indeed an amazing heart. I'm happy to have to met you on here.

Thank you. I am likewise happy to have come across your virtual hugs of hope. Your spirit speaks through your work x
Thanks for your continued contributions, they are most appreciated.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.86 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 31 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Excellent drawing! :)

Thanks. I can't do photo realism, so I hide my lack of skill in patterns and zentangle.
I came close to realism with the budgie, and it felt unnerving. Birds!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51