First Post from a Newbie!

in #art7 years ago

Hello,

Be patient with this newbie as I learn what I am doing. First, I am an abstract artist and I work with lots of texture and vibrant colors. I hope to do some tutorials in the future, once I figure out how this thing works! Here are a few samples of my work so you can get a sense of my style. I hope you like what you see and check back often.
Eclipse 20x20.JPG
This is my latest piece which was created with a layer of a mastic adhesive to add texture. Once this is applied I create crevices. After this has dried, it then gets sanded to smooth out all of the peaks left behind. The hardest thing about this technique is you don't have a lot of control of how and when the adhesive will separate or go on smoothly. And when this thing is solid white, its hard to envision pretty much anything on it! Once the paint starts going on I get a better idea of where it is going. Now this is where the fun begins. I add layers upon layers of different colored paint using mostly my hands, as I rarely use a brush. I feel I can get deep down into the crevices better when using my hands. Once my first layer goes on, it then goes to the drying table with a ceiling fan above which helps it to dry more quickly, because, what can I say, I am not a patient person. Then within a matter of minutes it's ready for the next layer. I can usually finish a piece in two days if I work at it continuously.
Gold Embellishments 6x6.jpg
This piece has real pine bark embedded into the adhesive. Like I said, I love working with texture! Once it sets up I painted the background first, then used a metallic gold on the bark and several coats of a clear gloss varnish to protect and preserve the bark. This one is titled "Gold Embellishments". The bark used was found just off the Natchez Trace while picnicking with the hubs. Thanks for stopping by and I hope to have more for you soon!

Sort:  

Congratulations @gingerthomas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @gingerthomas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Really interesting painting process. I'd like to see a timelapse video or just pictures of different phases! Also tutorial would be most welcome as I've yet to paint single stroke myself but intend to!

Congratulations @gingerthomas! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55