I'm Moving Into 3D

in #art6 years ago

IMG_9041.JPG

That meaning, I've gotten back into doing sculptures! It's been a long fifteen some years since my college days I did any real 3D work. Primarily I've stuck to the 2D lifestyle of canvas and paints, or the occasional digital works. And I'll tell you, it feels good working in this newfound medium.

IMG_7697.JPG

Inspired by my co-collaborator Joe's wedding decor we built, I've spun my own series of wall mounted heads.

As the processes evolves and involves using my hands directly with the material it's a nice change of pace from the constraints of the paint brush. Also, I forgot the feeling of warm wet plaster strips that bring back fond memories of the 'Art Barn' I spent "all nighters" t'il the sunrise finishing projects last minute before major critiques. It's nice living without rigid pressure of deadlines.

Here's a couple recent in the works pieces built from wire frames, then two layers of plaster strips, and 2-3 coats drywall mud that I sand and seal before they will eventually end in color.

The Bull:

IMG_8915.jpg

IMG_8998.jpg

IMG_9004.jpg

IMG_9570.JPG

IMG_9574.JPG

IMG_9575.JPG

The Snake:

IMG_9742.JPG

First the wiring

IMG_9749.JPG

Then the plastering

IMG_9754.JPG

Still have a long way to go on this one.

Thanks for the visit.

Sort:  

I have completely lost sight of you. The problem with not having an algorithm that knows all about you. But now I saw @kommienezuspadt's and your comic thing, so I am back. I put you on my newly created votingbot.

Funny to see these simple stylised and still a bit weird sculptures. Reminds me of one of my favourite painters and graphic artists, Max Ernst, who also made some strange sculptures that in some ways resemble yours.

Hey! Hi, been a while. Yeah, I know the feels, it's hard to keep up to date with everyone and all the faves, specially without the algorithms keeping the feed specific.

I dig Ernst, and his surrealist work. Thought he was mostly a painter. I'll have to look up his sculptor work. It's a compliment to be compared to him. I was going for more the Dr Seuss vibe.

Maybe Ernst wanted the Seuss vibe too. He was pretty unpredictable :)

Looks good! I'm sure the final results will be awesome :D

Thanks! It’s been a fun process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78