You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What do you value, how do you value it and who will value it when you're gone...

in #art7 years ago

I Agree with you man, so far away and yet similar in interests and quite probably thoughts as well.

My dad would do abstract work, some photo-realism and other stuff that I can't name because I didn't study art history! :) He is a great painter, amazing with pen and ink and pencil also. I will take some more images of some of his work and post them sometime. He was very creative...You should see what he could do with paper mache! Thanks for the RS on it, much appreciated.

Oh, just on your art history background...The first time we went to Firenze, Italy we hired a personal guide. Fortunately she double booked and had to send her best friend instead. Laura has a PhD in art history and has worked in galleries and museums all over the world including NY and the Louvre in Paris. We got so much more our of our time with her.

When we went back a couple of years later we hired her again and now we're friends. She takes us to places no tourist would ever see and her knowledge...Amazing. Here she is with my wife when we were in Tuscany.

For some reason I had you pegged for Mil or LE, not an art historian. Scratch the surface of a person and it's amazing what one finds.

You're a champ. Thanks for your kind words about my dad mate.

Ps. I did notice your "mate" comment...I'll have you speaking like an Aussie in no time!

Sort:  

Your friend Laura has what I consider to be the best job in the world. I'm no art historian, just a layman, an amateur, with a life-long interest in the subject. I made a living the hard way; as a sub-contractor in the building trades. The gun stuff, Gunsite and the like, was more of a "hobby" than anything else. Does driving a Subaru OUTBACK qualify me as an honorary Aussie?

Hey man, let me see...You have an Outback...Australia has an outback...You know what? YOU'RE IN! Consider yourself an Aussie. (honourary) We spell honour with a 'u'. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63