Origin of Mandala and Mandala Making (Simple Tutorial + Video Inside)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

In today's art, Mandala is a form of art that captures the soul of the viewers (or from the third person's perspective).

Over the internet and different social media platforms, artists love to show their mandala works. Its appeal to the public is no question because the circular object/ art pieces are capable of drawing a person near to them. It seems to have a psychedelic effect.

Before proceeding to our simple Mandala Art Tutorial, it is important to know first its origin, its meaning, and its significance.

According to ancient.eu , mandala means a circular object in Sanskrit. Sanskrit by the way is the ancient language of Hinduism (source) .

According to ancient.edu, it can be defined in two ways:

(1) visual representation of the universe and (2) guide for spsychophysical practices in some Asian traditions which particularly includes the art of meditation.

This is very evident on yoga (a type of meditation) classes with the patterns being used on the wall as paintings or any medium of art and even on some yoga mats.

meditation-1384758_1280.jpg
Image Source: pixabay.com which provides free commercial use of images by different photographers and illustration makers.

Mandalas as we have observed can be painted on different art mediums such as: on walls as mural painting; painted on paper using watercolor or even colored pens and pencils; acrylic on latex and wood; and a lot more.

aec-1822518_1280.jpg
Image from pixabay.com

In Tibetan Buddhism and some other beliefs, mandalas are significant that structures had such as temples had been designed using mandalas. Basically, the art of mandala has been incorporated with architecture.

Because of the influence of this art, creating mandalas are include chantings of sacred formulas. In addition, this form on art is made up of different geometric shapes using patterns with different symbolism.

Furthermore, mandalas are related to symbolic palace. The center if it is where the palace resides. It has four gates and then layers which makes protective barriers. This is basically the same with some other architecture wherein it derives from its meanings and culture at that tine it was established and practice. Lastly, Mandalas can also be associated with deities being in the center of the artpiece.

Sources of Information:

Before we proceed, let us have a quick trivia! Did you know that a number of people believes that Buddhism originated in China or Japan? Originally it came from India. Because of frequent trading of goods, Hinduism was able to influence a number of people. It is same with Catholicism being spread out in the Philippines in 1500s.

Now that we know a bit of the history and origin of Mandala, let us proceed in making one! Are you not excited to learn something to do?

Let us begin!

Simplified process

20180113_211853.jpg
First, is draw your circular object. You can use compass for this or do it in freehand manner just like how I did.

I did not actually made some chants since this one is for tutorial. Aside from that, may I remind you that this is just a simple tutorial that is why I designed it not to be that complex.

I also love flowers that is why it has been designed this way.

20180113_211933.jpg

I added then some small circles inside the circle that I made. You can also try some other geometric shapes as well, just make sure that it is symmetrical to the other sides of the center object.

20180113_212400.jpg

I then started adding somewhat complicated geometric patters. Since I love cones, you can observe that I had been including cones on this illustration that I made. I also decided to make a diamond shape around our square shape.

20180113_212554.jpg

20180113_212941.jpg

I was reminded of the four gates so I made a square shape object surrounding our mandala.


This six-minute video has been originally posted on my youtube account under the name Johanna Gail Tongco.

This video will show to you how I came up inking and the colors that I used.

I basically used the color wheel in determining colors that contrast with each other and complements with each other. You can actually that one on the internet. There are even artists here who discussed that. But basically it is like putting the color red next to green because they are contrasting colors.

20180113_220408.jpg

This is the final product by the way. It does not look perfect by the way and does not need to be. I plan to buy big boards by the way to paint mandalas on it.

If you love Mandalas and loves to make one or a lot of it, you can share your work here as well. I would love to see a variety of your works!

If you are hesitant of starting a mandala artwork, you can actually google some references and practice. Practicing a lot is actually the key so that your hands will get used to working with colored pencils, color pens, and even working with paintbrush! It might be tiring but I swear, it will all be worth it!

Upvote or even resteem if you like today's Art Tutorial. Have a great day!

DQmVq8yB41aUVoJPra5uTFxd6B8GPXb985mwLRJyzM896nu_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

wow. I'll definitely going to try this with my newly bought art materials. going back to my artistic side. :)

Please do. And please showcase your work.

This is lovely! Mandalas are a wonderful way to create a space of peace and calm, especially when the rest of the world is a bit chaotic. I like the "imperfection" of your mandala, the permission you give for it to be a process, not a thing that ends up being "perfect." Wonderful post!

Making Mandala is part of meditation, you can find it among Tantrayana Buddhist monk. That's way if we see Mandala we can feel a peace from it.

I love mandalas. How can one not love them? Recently I created one and got caried away.

I looks so fantastic dear. You should definitely make a post about this and some of your works. You rock!

Thank you! There is a post about it here. I do share my art here sometimes :)

You are such a talented person. I admire you. Followed.

Thank you so much for the kind words <3

Seriously, I really love this. So that's what it's called. Also I am very interested in Buddhism, I consider it to be my school of thought right now. I am in to meditation lately and I love the entire concept of their teachings.

And yes it originated in India (or Nepal accdng to sme texts) but is popular in China when people started to preach his teachings

I will make one of these soon. I will let you know when I already did. Makes me feel like I am reaching nirvana lol

Oh. Please comment me then your works or tag me. I would love to see it.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

@Ocd now has a witness, please vote for @ocd-witness to help support other undervalued authors!

Oh please do. Would love to be part of it =)

Since your post got a big vote already, I have to revoke my nomination.

Very creative art!

Thank you sir. Followed you by the way.

I highly appreciate it!

wonderful art i like art and artist

Thank you hania. Please share your works too =)

You got a 3.38% upvote from @upme requested by: @rcarter.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Hey there I really love art... I use to collect art in my past life... Haha... And Mandelas one of my favorite gf made to me so beautiful indeed.. I can se you are skilled.. I follow you of course... Thanks 🙏 🎯

Nice Mandala drawing, my apologies to give small correction about Buddhist monk photo. I think it will be more suite if you put photo Tibetan Buddhist monk from Tantrayana Buddhist sect, your photo is using Theravada Buddhist monk. Making Mandala is practising by Theravada Monk as part of meditation. Anyway good posting.

Oh I see. But anyway, I am just using a mandala inspired artwork. I am not really that very familiar with the practice of meditation. Hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81