Drawing and Coloring Contest Entry: The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

in #art6 years ago
Hello fellow writers, artists, and co-content writers! Today I will present to you my entry for @osm0sis's drawing and coloring contest. I gave the title The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly . This was taken from the title of a 1966 action and adventure film, but it is not similar to the movie somehow. Later, I will explain as to why the title is like that.

2018-03-13 06.19.37 1.jpg

The good in our lives can become the ugly in someone else's eyes, and vice versa as we tend to live using various lenses.

On some point, the good represents the things and values that matter a lot in our lives such as happiness and love. These good things are the things that are essential, but we tend to neglect or disregard because we think that it would always be in our lives. We tend to excuse ourselves often times during family gatherings and even neglect the love and care for ourselves. We always think that these things wait for us but time waits for no one.

The bad are the things that deceives us. Money or fortune for one is a good servant but a bad master as well. We may opt to overwork ourselves to gain such fortune but then we compromised our wealth. Others tend to value vanity or beauty more as they spend a lot on it.

When you tend to focus on one aspect of your life, you may end up compromising other things such as what I said, your health. The ugly thing on this worldwhen you had been unprepared. When death knocks on your door and opens it, it does not listen to your logical reasoning why it should not take you. You might ponder then on few seconds before death takes you that you have neglected some aspects of your life. You end up feeling sorry for yourself.

Always remember that happiness is just around the corner as well as love.


Anyway, here is the process on how I ended up with such digital art.
I downloaded the original file on @osm0sis's post. The link can be found on the bottom of the post. It his grandfather's original artwork. I suppose his grandfather is a good illustrator with a good story to tell on every artwork that he makes.

For this one, I first wanted to print it but then I have thought I ran out of ink at home that is why I decided to use my drawing tablet and make a digital art instead. I used a paid application that I got online.

The initial step that I made is to erase the unnecessary details of the original work such as the background.

Using different toolz on the application, I used another layer to add details such as the dollar sign to represent fortune. A draft of a person holding the dollar sign has also been added. It will represent "beauty". Beauty by the way on this sense has turned into much of vanity.

The color green has also been used to represent wealth as the color signifies prosperity.


I have also added some other details such as the background. I wanted to add some Starry Night feels as for one, Vincent Van Gogh's work has moved me a lot.

The second reason is that, i wanted the audience to feel how one person feels in times when they run after these things in life. It is as if they are dreamy.

I used and drew the illustration of thumbs up for fame because often times, the crave of an individual for attention in the social media sites is manifested on his cravings for likes. These likes are attributed then to a thumb up sign.

The reason behind as to why the people are chasing it on top of a cliff is because I wanted to portray that sometimes in life, we may never know when is the end of our lives. I do not want to emphasize that by chasing fame, beauty, and fortune would lead you to death or destruction, but rather, like as how I explained it on top.

I then decided to add few more details, and voila! I am done with my work.

I just hope you understood the meaning behind this work. Have a great day friends!

If you would like to join for the competition, you could check the mechanics here.It would be a great opportunity for your voice to be heard.

It would also be great oppurtunity for you to gain more followers or even win the grand prize in the competition. So stop worrying! Your art and ideas are meant to be shared here.

Sort:  

Magnificent article. I really liked it. And, thank you for subscribing to Andruto.

A most excellent drawing and explanation @gailbelga. I couldn't agree more with your ideas of Fame, Beauty, and Fortune.

Thank you for showing us the process of your drawing/coloring as well. I hope many will be inspired by your post.
Good luck for the contest :)

Thank you ma'am for appreciating my work and also coming up with such contest. Looking forward for the results. There are a lot of wonderful artists around. Ciao!:)

Love the Van Gogh' flair ate...nice. Goodluck!

thank you for the invitation ate. :D I am loving Van Gogh so much!<3

🙋Hello sir, your 📮post is 👍good
🙏Please 👀see my profile

Great artwork! The meaning behind it is so wonderful!

thank you for appreciating!:)

gailbelga looks like you copy / pasted some content of this post from this article:
UPDATE ??? Token Recive Free Airdrop Coin CryptoCrystal, BitLong, Lux Token, NEW AIRDROP All Update Free Ico
Please consider to avoid plagiarism!

oh.. we meet again.. nice art gail.. we are in the same contest.. best of luck to all of us.. you're a real artist..

ay ano ba kinabahan tuloy ako. hhuhu

congratz gail.. galing mu talaga.... kala ko ikaw na mananalo ng first place,.. mag papa contest daw siya ulit..send ko sayo link pag meron na... congratz ulit.. LODI

What you say is so true! Nice entry @gailbelga, I appreciate your interpretation!

Thank you so much maam :) i appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55450.66
ETH 2943.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.07