Some seriously good (and legal) street art found in Da Nang

in #art7 days ago

The vandalism situation in Da Nang, Vietnam is something that really grinds my gears because almost all of the street art in this city isn't art at all, it is just garbage bullshit put by probably bored teenagers. It has become a bit of a problem as almost any surface is covered with absolute trash work that was unauthorized. I always feel bad for the property owners because they certainly didn't want someone to do that to their home or wall, and now they have to pay to have it repainted and even if they did that (which I have seen happen) the perpetrators return to do exactly the same thing again.

Catching these people on CCTV is something that happens frequently but it is something that the police do not follow up on. For a country that is known around the world for having a strict police presence, they certainly do not catch anyone that I am aware of that does this sort of crap.

Every now and then though, i end up finding something that is genuinely good and these are always pieces that the artists were allowed to do but this next discovery is something that is so huge that scaffolding had to have been involved in and it must have taken a very long time to finish.


image.png

This is located quite far out of the city center in a village of sorts that I think the area thought was going to be the next big thing as far as where people decide to set up shop, live, or even attract tourism. It doesn't appear to have accomplished any of that and it is one of the few peaceful places in the entire city. I love it there because it is one of the only areas that you don't constantly have the noise of car and bike horns as well as slamming loud music. In that regard I am very happy that this area wasn't successful because it's basically the only place I can go for actual peace and quiet.

I got a bit closer on these next shots to attempt to know the materials that were used in this creation


image.png

This appears to be mostly spray and you can tell by the shadings on certain parts of the two people in the painting.


image.png

When you look closely at the areas around the cheeks and elbows there is a sort of blending of colors that as far as I know, is more difficult to do with a brush than it is with a spray can. I wasn't there when it was made so I can't say for sure.


image.png

I appreciate the use of different colors to simulate shadows and that this piece doesn't even have a tag on it. The person who made it I guess didn't want recognition, they were just creating art for the sake of art. When I noticed this from the main road my first inclination was that this must be some sort of noodle shop but it is not. It is simply a private residence and perhaps and artist of some sort lives there.

In this neighborhood there are other similarly good works as well and I didn't notice any shitty tags done by the talentless hacks that ruin the walls of the area that I actually do live in. I am going to get a bit closer to all of these on my next trip down to this area, which is something that will happen in the next week or so.

This is art, 98% of the spray that is in this city and likely almost all other cities in the world is garbage. I'm happy this exists and now I am going to investigate this community a bit further. Hell, if they have a house for rent there I might even move there because if this community is able to enforce standards on street art, they probably don't have any other sort of crime there as well.

Sort:  

💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ This is a manual curation from the @tipu Curation Project.

@tipu curate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58324.43
ETH 3144.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38