Horo Is Unity. Original Artwrok By Gabchik. A Glimpse Into My Next Project

in #art7 years ago

As some of you already know, I am very passionate about preserving the old Bulgarian traditions and am looking for the deeper meaning behind them. Recently, I released a video talking about the magical properties of the Shevitsi embroideries and Pendari adornment. I spent a lot of energy into it, so you can watch it here. Hope that it brings inspiration to your day.

As making videos is quite exhausting, before I continue with the next one I decided to give a small start to the next project. Just for relief. It is related to the round dance, called Horo.

The graphic that you see above took me more than a month of work. Size: 29cm. x 23,5cm. The top says "Horo" and the bottom "Unity". I will try to silk screen print it with colors, as the charm of the embroideries is in their colorfulness. Doing silkscreen printing manually with more than one color is very hard and requires precision, so wish me luck!

I will need to look for sources of information about the deeper meaning of the round dance. What I found until now is the following:

"Apart from uniting people, the dance has esoteric roots. Sometimes, in the center of the circle a bagpiper plays and the others surrounding him dance. They duplicate the Cosmic, creating an energetic model of the Solar System; thus, the musician is the Sun and the dancers are the planets. This is a powerful generator of mental, physical, biological and spiritual might for those who dance the horo."

Does your culture have the round dance? Do you have any information about its meaning? If you do, please share it with me. I am not the kind of person who takes pride in nationality, but rather look in the common roots with other cultures, to find a crossing point for unification.

All the love!
Gabchik~


👣*Follow me @gabchik*

gabchik.com
Sort:  

Soo beautiful 💗 good work 😉

This is very nice ! props on you for your passion in your traditions ! the best way for art to evolve is to preserve our cultural roots and nurture it ! love it

@gabchik, I can't believe you have been here nearly as long as I have and I didn't know of your excellent blog! So glad to discover you in @reddragonfly's comments, and will work my way through some more of your posts and of course follow.

Awww, thank you. It is so good to be appreciated. The content of your blog looks amazing too. This is the true happiness of steemit, to find inspiring people. Check out this post. I put a lot if energy into the creation of the video, but it does not seem to reach a lot of audience. Hope you enjoy it :)


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

I upvoted and comment for you. Please upvote and comment for helping me grow @mdfoysal

Please understand that an upvote and a comment should be earned with original content and not with begging. Comments like this kill the charm of steemit. Thank you :)

KOLO, it's called here like that, very similar :) again. And the steps for that folk dances are not so easy. Here we have tradition of dance societies, where people very professionally learn to dance and perform all old and traditional dances.

You can see this guys

It is so beautiful <3 we have many folk groups as well, who keep the dance alive.
Check out the similarity between the Bosilegrad costume from Serbia:

And the Kyustendil nosia:

They are exactly the same! How cool is that?
The Kolo that you sent is called ruchenitsa here. Very beautiful performance. Thank you for sharing <3

You are welcome so much @gabchik, just continue with great work you are doing, I am reading each post with great pleasure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56416.38
ETH 2379.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35