Bulgarian Folklore Inspiration - Shevitsa embroidery & Pendari adornments

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

Dive into a world of inspirations

In this video, I will walk you though the magic of the Bulgarian folklore. More specifically - the traditional embroideries Shevitsi and the adornments made from metal coins Pendari. I put a lot of dedication and energy in the last four days to shoot the video right and edit it. Definitely, it was worth it, as I feel a mission to share this knowledge around the globe. It is the second inspiration behind my graphic "Prayer For Fertility". (Check out the first one - Sacred Geometry "The Seed Of Life")

Do you have information whether those symbols were used in the same/similar way in your culture? If you do, please do share it. In my heart we are all One Big Human Family and by going back to our roots , seeing the similarities, we can easily overcome prejudices and feel our connection stronger.

If you like the graphic "Prayer For Fertility", check out the products related to it:

Manually printed and colored prints. Limited edition of 27 pieces

Fully hand-made bags. Limited edition of 8 pieces (only 4 left).
pp1-4.jpg

10% of each product will go for charity, as nothing makes me richer than giving.

I left my well-paid job last year and started to follow my heart. It led me to create gabchik.com, learn different crafts, such as silkscreen printing, macrame and sewing and of course to draw what inspires me. What you see today is the product of that dedication. Any support is highly appreciated, as it will help me to continue my art, to research and share inspiring information.

All my best regards!


*Follow me @gabchik*

With this post I enter the @ecotrain, as there is a good intention in it and I will be happy to contribute.
Sort:  

congrats! you were born to do this.. such a great presentation and beautifully spoken and explained.. you have helped to preserve the Bulgarian culture very well!

Wonderful video, your efforts show!
I am very glad to learn something about Bulgaria´s culture, it seems like such a rich heritage.
My knowledge about Bulgaria so far has come from Под прикритие 😎

Lol, под прикритие :D not the best place to learn about Bulgaria, but it does have some realism xD Happy that you enjoyed the video :)

Fantastic! Congratulations! resteem 100%

Спасибо <3. I put a lot of dedication and energy. Each support is highly appreciated, as the post needs a little push to reach more people. Steem on!

Amazing post gabchic. I love how you explain all the details on the traditions of Bulgaria. I am from the Netherlands but have been in Sofia for almost 2 years now. And I have seen so many beautiful traditions that are still practiced by a large part of the population. Back home we didn't have all of these spiritual traditions. Keep making these videos because I find it really interesting and I know a lot more people are interestwd in this too. We just have to get you a bigger audience :)
Resteemed

Much appreciated :) I have a lot more coming under my sleev ;)

Good to hear, a Bulgarian colleague just looked over my shoulder and said "Shevitsa?"
I will be looking forward to your new stories !

Congratulations @gabchik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is beautiful and so professionally done presentation, you are born for this :)
Love to see more of your stories and things you know.

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it :3

As a craftswomen, mostly jewelry and costuming, I love this series! Thanks for the videos.

Can you point me to a few sites or books with specific designs? I searched after watching your first video, but many of them don't look so authentic. Non English is ok as I'm looking for the designs.

This is part of a recent project.
DSCI1070.JPG

DSCI1067.JPG

What I saw is just great. I am a Bulgarian and I am very proud of that fact. We have such old history full of bloodsheds in the name of the freedom and identity. I admire you for revealing just a little part of tha bulgarian roots. For the curious ones you can read more about Bulgaria and you will regret. Resteem and upvote from me. Keep up.

Благодаря :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66548.53
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91