Atropa belladonna

in #art7 years ago

I started drawing various real and fictional plants, with young girls standing among them.
I'm drawing these pictures on wooden planks with aquarell pencils. Plank size: 8x8 inch.
First I toned the surface with wood stains.
This is the first piece, depicting the poisonous Atropa belladonna and a girl in dark clothes. She is a white witch the same as the other daughters of the series. I wanted to show, that this girl knew the plant's properties.
Initially, I chose the wood board because I wanted to refer to the medieval nature, the witches who knew the effects of plants. I began the series with the most powerful plants, but later I also painted fantasy plants, and I depicted a strong woman possessing knowledge.

Atropa_belladonna.jpg

Atropa_belladonna_draft.jpg

Sort:  

It's fantasy and beatiful. I guess that the girl has uncanny power because of black. I'm happy to see this picture. Thank you. :)

Thank you very much!

Hi, I've included this post in my weekly art curation post: Ocean of Art!

Thank you very much!

This is cool:)

Very good skills. And the idea of little girls possessing plant skills is really cool.

Thank you for your comment!

This is absolutely stunning! Love the wisps of her hair! I thought at first these were done in acrylic or oils, so it's a huge surprise that you achieved this look with pencils?! What?! Keep up the beautiful work! 💕

Thank you for your kindly comment! :)

Beautiful art ! So glad to discover your work !

Thank you for your kindly words!

..Too elegant picture

Ooh, I really like this one. Do you prime the board in anyway or underpaint the areas you are painting on the wood? I really love your style and subject matter.

Thank you for your comment!
When I want to have a darker toned surface, I paint through the plank with wood stain.

i think i like this one best.

How wonderful is that painting ?! ^_^ ifollowyou.png

Thank you very much for your kindly comment and for this cute draw too! Will you make a comic book from the story of the cute characters? :)

Thank you ;-) Ooh I suppose I could but I'm kinda lazy...LoL They are just doing the show on Steemit and they like it =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.86
ETH 2476.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66