Falseyedols and The New Alchemists

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Answering the Call!


TNAbanner.jpg

pyramidborderfalse.png


I love all the awesome communities growing and forming over Steemit. So many great initiatives! When I heard that @lilyraabe was starting the art curating project @thenewalchemists (badass name by the way!), I was very excited that she reached out to me to consider applying/becoming an art curator for the project. Everything she has put out into Steemitland has been very high quality, and I thoroughly enjoy reading about her adventures and advice for creatives. As an artist myself, I find her insight very helpful as she makes a living as an entrepreneur.

The New Alchemists will add value to Steemit! Any well done curation project will, and this is exactly why I am interested in being apart of the team. To be an official member, I am to make a post as my application, so here we go! If you are interested in applying for this project, HERE is the original post that contains the instructions. I recommend resteeming that post as well to help spread the word!


vinceword.jpg
The time I coordinated my own event for my album release. Almost all the features on my album made it and performed with me and did their own set. I was so happy with the turnout.


Application QA

1 What are your core values as a curator?

Quality is king. While subjective, I am good at determining the amount of time someone spends on something, and I’d like to think I have an eye (and ear) for high quality content. In my local community I have a reputation for quality and associating with quality creatives, and my experience on Steemit is no different! I have gotten curie’d before, and my videos and music have gotten votes from @dtube and @dsound numerous times. I also help curate for @poeticsnake when she does her “You got Snekked” posts, and I co host a radio show over on MSPWaves. For these reasons, I believe I would be a good fit for curating content that adds great value to Steemit.

2 What role should art and culture play in our society?

We are all apart of the human experience, and I see art and culture being instrumental (see what I did there?!) in telling the human narrative. Where we’ve come from, and where we’re going. The mistakes we’ve made, and the gains we’ve achieved. All of these life lessons can (and should) be taught through our art and culture. There is nothing more human than creating art in my eyes, and we should embrace this capacity more. Anyone can create, and should! Not only is it therapeutic, but is also a universal form of communication. Even if in another language, art transcends typical forms of communication. You can get a lot out of anyone’s art regardless of where they’re from. Art and culture not only highlight our individuality, but also bring us together as a collective. The human collective.

3 What categories of art would you like to cover, and in what language(s)?

I have been playing guitar over 10 years, and I’ve been producing my own music for around 5-6 years. I am also from the States. I suppose my credentials would be mostly in the realm of music, but I also do a little photography and graphic design. My first choice would be to help curate for music, but I would also be a good fit curating for visual arts or photography. Being monolingual, I would need to curate in English.

4 And because all hard work deserves a reward: what is your favorite meal to eat when you want to "treat yourself”?

Oh man I love food. Mexican, Chinese and Italian are probably my favorite styles. I don’t know if I have an absolute favorite, but I really love authentic Mexican tacos, pozole, any type of Chinese chicken, pizza and my mom’s lasagna. This is by no means an all inclusive list! I love all sorts of different types of food :)


pyramidborderfalse.png
There goes my application! I look forward to helping curate more arts on Steemit and seeing all the great new content highlighted through this project! Thanks to @lilyraabe for creating this awesome initiative and thinking about including me! Peace and love Steemfam.
pyramidborderfalse.png


Other Posts from @falseyedols


Ambient Sessions 03

Cablebox Presents: Milky Way

Tiny Cosmos: A Macrophotography Series 01

Storytellers 04: Camp Sin Otay


pyramidborderfalse.png

Falseyedolshiresgreen.jpg

falseyedolsbannerblogsteemit.jpg

Sort:  

A great write-up! You're definitely going to make an awesome curator. I've been considering applying too, just not sure because of time restraints. Steemit is slowly starting to take over my life, lol...

Oh man, I am so honored that you wrote this incredible piece for your curator application. I feel so similarly about your work -- it’s always amazing, you mash up genres all the time, and there is a vibrant creative energy about everything you put out that is just downright rad. Really, really, really happy to have you on board with TNA. See you around!

So stoked to have you in on this adventure. See you back in Discord!

Congratulations @falseyedols! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67640.77
ETH 3784.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65