A Fractal Universe # 16- Using Heightmaps in Mandelbulb 3D to Fractalize Your Universe!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steem Fam



For today I wanted to share a fractal made using a fun technique I enjoy experimenting with. Mandelbulb 3D is a free fractal generating program for both Windows and Mac, and its implications are vast. For this image I used what is called a HeightMap to basically get this Halo looking character into a fractal.



bravoteamfossilbigtag.jpg
You can also use light maps and texture maps to generate cool textures, like the rock pattern on these guys



There are tons of texture maps and height maps available, royalty free, through google. Gotta love the internet! Below you will see the very image I used as a HeightMap that I imported into Mandelbulb. Basically what the program does, is it creates depth based on the grayscale. The darker/black it is, the closer it is, and the lighter gray/white it is, the further away it is. This allows Mandelbulb to create a 3D Image based off a 2D one. The group that I learned to do this through is on Facebook (Mandelbulb Maniacs), and I will go ahead and link their program files section where you can download the PDF on Heightmaps, Lightmaps, Backgrounds, Adding figures etc Here. The author, Lyn Taryn, who is also an amazing fractal creator, already wrote extensively on the process, as have many, so I won't go into depth on how to.



999666000.png
The HeightMap I used. If anyone wants to give it a whirl and would like this HeightMap sent to them, let me know!



Another cool thing you can do is make your own HeightMap! You can turn any photo or image you have taken into a HeightMap by simply converting it to a black and white picture in an image editing program like PhotoShop. I did that on the Fractal Selfie post I did for my tenth entry in this series. On my next fractal post I will show you guys some fractals I made using my logo as a HeightMap! I've also made logos for people using HeightMaps of images they have sent me. If someone doesn't want to learn Mandelbulb and would like me to fractalize something of theirs, let me know! You could pay me in STEEM/SBD ;)


This Artwork was even featured for an event I got to headline in Pueblo Colorado! Check it out. This was the first headline event I did besides my album release, and it was a blast! I'll probably start performing more regularly again once I decide on the format, but I've been more quiet and creating and preparing lately. All in due time.


falseyedolsperforms.jpg



Feel free to check out the various other content I post about! All original content created by meeeeeee (see below):


Colorful Colorado Photography Series: GIF's of Timelapses!


Behind the Scenes on my debut album, plus a debut of a new animation technique I learned!


Blog about my experiences in the educational field



Thanks for stopping by! I hope you like what I've been doing, and found this post useful if you are wanting to also embark on your own fractal journey. It takes time, but you can create some cool stuff. Even awesome animations and GIF's like this!!!!

I'm always free to reach out to on the Discord if anyone has questions (falseyedols#1856), and I am usually over on the Rocky Mountain Steemit or You Got Snekked servers, too.



If you like what I'm doing, you know what to do! I also love and comment/upvote thoughtful comments <3


falseyedolsbannerblogsteemit.jpg


Falseyedolshiresgreen.jpg

Sort:  

That is bad-ass @falseyedols. I must admit, I know very little about the production of fractal art and it is great to get some insight into the process, software and source material you use. I look forward to your future fractal posts. Best wishes.

Thanks man I really appreciate that! I could see you getting into it. You basically just dork around with numbers that correspond to different fractal formulas and see what happens. I definitely can't draw rad stuff like you so it also helps those that don't have that talent :) Thanks for stopping by my dude.

I love both the images and the transparency you bring to your process. You share your gifts in a way that encourages us to develop (and share!) ours. I've gotta believe that when (not if!) that dynamic itself goes viral, positive planetary change is inevitable.

Wow man your words really mean a lot. I'm all about putting that positive intention into the universe. We are all growing :)

Amen, brother.

Love how those turned out, man! I'm going to check out Mandelbulb, too. I've been wanting to do some fractal art.

They're a lot of fun! You never know what you'll get :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39