How to Draw a Braid

in #art8 years ago


One of my greatest drawing feats was a total fluke.

For years I had it in my head I was going to draw braids. From the influence of Rapunzel to my endless fascination with Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House series, I drew and drew. But I could not figure out how to draw believable braids. You can fake it for only so long.

When I was about 11, I had an epiphany. Whilst sprawled on top of my grandparents' bed in their magnificent house in Minnesota, it came to me. I don't know how, but I was drawing and decided to put a few interlocking lines together. I wasn't trying to draw braids per se - I had given that up. But braids I drew. And they looked like braids. Once I saw what I had done, I panicked. Would I remember how to do it again? I drew the same sequence of shapes again. Braids! It was like I had spent all my unconscious hours in my brain trying to figure out this braid pattern. Never having had long hair myself or any sisters, I had no one to practice on. My brain must have been putting it together piece by piece over the years, because this winter day was pivotal. If I could draw braids, what else could I do?

And with that, please enjoy the first time I have done a braid drawing demo. 

And that is how I did it then. I wonder if I have that first successful attempt locked away somewhere with childhood memories in boxes? Maybe one day I'll find it. 

The funniest thing is that I remember exactly where I was when I figured out a drawing problem that evaded me for years. 

It was the first time I began to really understand how practice pays off.


Drawings © Johanna Westerman 2016

I so much wanted long hair when I was little - we twisted yarn into "braids" and those were my flowing locks. And I sit here with my hero grandpa.

Sort:  

amazing. Followed!! UpVoted!!

It will be nice if you could submit your article as answer for my How to Draw? question.

Thanks, @luminousvisions. That was quite a post! I've bookmarked it - useful stuff.

Very good!

Very well written tutlrial

I would appreciate if you took the time to upvote/discuss my most recent post. Thank you.

your skill impresses me every time.

Thank you, @nekromarinist! It's not every day I get compliments from a Russian artistic genius!

I used to love books like these when I was younger.. You should put all of your stuff into a book :D

Thanks, @stealthtrader. I might end up doing that one of these days. I have a whole series of upcoming posts like these planned.

Wow, you are so talented. This is amazing! I'm going to try it.

I hope it makes sense, @mscleverclocks. Thank you!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Braids are tricky! This is a great tutorial - makes it all seem so simple.

Thank you, @storyseeker. These make me slow down and relearn all over again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37