The Making of an Illustration for The Crab and the Fox

in #art8 years ago (edited)


The Crab and the Fox

A crab, after sunning himself on the seashore, decided it was time to eat. Tired of the predictable fare on the beach, he ventured farther afield into the rushes to see what delectable treat might be waiting. Suddenly he came face to face with a fox, who had the same idea about meal time. He swiftly opened his mouth and the crab found himself wedged firmly between the fox’s teeth. At that moment, he cried out “Wretched crab that I am – had I only stayed in familiar territory to feast, my fate would not be sealed in the jaws of a fox!”

When we look elsewhere for contentment, we may be disappointed.

In this post I document my creation of an illustration from one of Aesop's fables. Join me in my studio and see how I get the project under way from start to finish. This blog is part of my series describing the process of making illustrations for 15 selected Aesop's Fables. Today I talk about the fox and the crab. It is a story about not taking chances--certainly a lesson I have recently dismissed in my own life.

When I begin the initial sketch for a layout, I try to be vigilant about avoiding the most obvious solutions for a composition. Then I chose which part of the story best expresses the mood of the fable. I like to vary my perspectives when I do a series of paintings to keep the pictures interesting and different. For this fable, I toyed around with the fox running away through the rushes with the unfortunate crab dangling out of its mouth. I liked the action of the fox running. As my first idea, I was skeptical. Was that too predictable?

At this point, I put away the design to sit overnight in my head.

I wondered how it would look if we zoomed in on the meeting of the two. At this point, the fox has flipped over the poor crab, but hasn't taken it yet. I didn't like this version - I needed to get to the end of the fable and really link story and image together.


Fox with crab turned over - wasn't right yet

Finally, I played with the idea of a close up, only from the side. I wanted to capture the instant the crab is picked up as he wails about his fate. I was also intrigued by how a crab is actually put together. The best part of any project is challenging myself to figure out how something works. In this case, the object of study is a crab with all its jointed legs – and its eyes. I had never considered crab anatomy before this piece (except when feasting on King Crab on New year's Eve).


The finished piece - I painted over the drawing shown above on Crescent Illustration board (watercolor and gouache)

In the end, I know I made this illustration a lot more work than it had to be. But I was determined to capture detail as realistically as I could. The best part of the finished illustration was painting the fox's eyes. Have you ever really looked at an animal's eye sideways? It was time to push past my fear of rendering a glossy eye in watercolor. It had to be just right; there's not a lot of room for errors in watercolor. Unlike digital painting, you can't just scrap a layer. The best way to do this was to break down every highlight and shadow into shapes. The white highlight? If you look at it, it appears to be a saucepan. By painting what you see rather than relying on you think you know, you will have a great advantage as you work on your realistic drawing and painting skills.

Illustrations © Johanna Westerman 2016

Sort:  

Nice Job!!!!!!!!!

Really nice result!

By painting what you see rather than relying on you think you know

For a long time I've appreciated the book Drawing on the Right Side of The Brain for how accessibly it communicates this concept, and how to practice it.

Are you working from reference photos? If so can you say something about your process in working with those images.

Unlike digital painting, you can't just scrap a layer.

What, to you, are the most important considerations in having chosen traditional media over digital for this project?

I love that book @bitbutter. I use it in my teaching. I use reference photos, but not copying directly. I like to have a whole bunch of images to work from. I find that copying directly from a photograph makes my work look stiff and unnatural. I think to myself "Be the fox!" I was trained in traditional media. For me, I need the tactile connection to the paper I am working on. I feel a distance from my own work when I use graphics software. I will use it to clean up sketches and such, but to paint something from scratch on a computer isn't my thing. Some people love it. To each his or her own. Thank you for the compliment and for asking thoughtful questions about my process.

Thanks for letting us see how your mind works, during your process of creation @fairytalelife - for some reason it has made me think about my favorite of all-time, The Little Prince by, Antoine de Saint-Exupery. It must be the illustrations... CHEERS!

Well I am honored. @macksby. Do you believe I never read that whole book, though I know the illustrations well? It's on my list

Well then @fairytalelife - your homework assignment is READ THAT BOOK. I know you will love. Of course, when you have the time...

I'll be on it - when I have a minute ;)
But reading is a way I escape so maybe sooner than later.

It's funny, as I read the fairly tale, I was disappointed by your initial choice of setting for your drawing. In my mind's eye, I never saw the fox walking away. In fact, I imagined the crab in the fox's mouth, facing away from the fox just how you chose to draw the most detailed picture. The details of the crab's death afterwards aren't relevant and your artwork captures the story beautifully.

Thanks for your thoughtful comment, @billbutler. That's exactly how I was feeling about it. The crab's death wasn't relevant. It had to be this way!

So, the next to last image, is that the image you paint in watercolor? Or do you draw it again and then paint the final image?

I edited in that I painted directly over the drawing. Thanks for asking.

Incredible, like always!

Love the illustrations, any website link to see more?

Thank you, @filmaker - it's coming

Excellent work. I enjoyed seeing the stages of your drawing process.

I love your illustrations and appreciate the time and work you give them. Thank you

Thanks so much, @team101. I appreciate you looking!

You are very talented! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00