You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Making of an Illustration for The Crab and the Fox

in #art8 years ago

Really nice result!

By painting what you see rather than relying on you think you know

For a long time I've appreciated the book Drawing on the Right Side of The Brain for how accessibly it communicates this concept, and how to practice it.

Are you working from reference photos? If so can you say something about your process in working with those images.

Unlike digital painting, you can't just scrap a layer.

What, to you, are the most important considerations in having chosen traditional media over digital for this project?

Sort:  

I love that book @bitbutter. I use it in my teaching. I use reference photos, but not copying directly. I like to have a whole bunch of images to work from. I find that copying directly from a photograph makes my work look stiff and unnatural. I think to myself "Be the fox!" I was trained in traditional media. For me, I need the tactile connection to the paper I am working on. I feel a distance from my own work when I use graphics software. I will use it to clean up sketches and such, but to paint something from scratch on a computer isn't my thing. Some people love it. To each his or her own. Thank you for the compliment and for asking thoughtful questions about my process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35