Fencer's Reach - Original Digital Illustration.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Also know as: “Why do I always choose to do difficult stuffs.jpg”

for entering in the topic, this piece is about a multiplayer massive role playing game: World of Wacrarft.

In the beginning, this drawing, it was suppose to be a quick sketch, with a simple coloring, this in order to celebrate me to myself, my victory over the Mage Tower Challenge; with the mission “An impossible foe”. In this quest, we had to slay a powerful demon called Agatha, who tried to destroy the Kirin Tor, from the inside.

The Mage Tower, were a series of very difficult challenges, especially planed for make you having an ulcer. These challenges varied depending of the class/specialization the character had. At the end, to the players who dare to affront and win this challenges, they will have a cosmetic reward for their effort; being this, a clear indication to the other players, that you, beaten the challenge.

For some people, is easier; for other, is harder. Each person have better skills or a better pc than other; varying the difficult of this challenge in many possibilities. Personally, the challenge, even having my character full equip as much as I could, it was pretty difficult. And for celebrate my victory, I decided to draw my character, wielding the fabulous floret, which where the reward weapon for the Outlaw Rogue Challenge.


PD: I have drawn this character before. It is a original character of mine.

The thing is, this piece, has many details; so much, in the clothes and the sword, that this drawing, which suppose to be as maximum 3 days; it took me more than 3 weeks. But I’ll explain that below, keep reading. 😉

The important thing, Here it is the final piece.

Please, please, take a moment to look to at all the details I painted c’’’’’:


Details of the hair and eyes

Details of the floret, the handgrip and the blade beginning

Details on the chest, the little daggers, buttons and belts

Details on the metal knee protector


This was my process on this piece.

Paper Sketch


Everything began with this sketch I made the day I obtained my swords. In paper; It doesn’t look good, and it doesn’t resemblance to the final result.

Re Sketch


When I scanned my drawing… I do not like it at all. I only liked the pose; so, I maintained that and re do the drawing in digital. Using guide lines and references, now my character has a better skeleton and a proper structure.

Lineart


Despite I hide the Lines at the end of the process, I do it anyway. Why?, because, when I’m coloring my pieces, I use them as a guide for knowing what I am doing. Lineart is a important step on my pieces.

Flat Colors


There are many ways to color a piece. For this one, I went for this method; using the base colors directly. I made this way for helping myself this all the little details. Colors helped me a lot to difference them.

Coloring


This is the longest process, here starts the pain, fun. Basically, I wanted to give that epic atmosphere, with the light coming from the background, walking over tables like a dock; like in a movie; with the style: Like a Boss I’m the Pro. actually, I’m not a pro at all, but I like to think, I am.

I focused on the character first, and then, moved to the floret and lastly, the background.
Here I let you a compilation Gif of the process. In this way is easier to see how the piece, advance. 😃


This section exist because I wanted to add it. Mostly because I wanted to show my screenies.
References are important.

I know, it is better to draw stuffs coming from your mind; but first, we must make a kind of “database” of images in our brain. And this is generated, using references.


I used the program “design doll” for helping myself with the pose and the illumination

If someone who read this, also, plays World of Warcraft. The clothes is: Fierce Gladiator Leather Armor, tier for PvP legion season 5, 6 and 7. The florets name is: the Fencer’s Reach.

This piece took more time than I expected. Not only doing the illumination was difficult, I had to deal with my depression too, during the realization of this piece, hit me very hard; due to that, I got absent from my social media and here in Steemit too.
Some of my friends, especially the ones who draw; they tried to cheer me up, insisting in do not drop this piece, and continuing until the end. That and a little help from a raid partner, helped me to recover, and gave me that impulse I needed to finish this piece.


At the end, yes! I managed to finish it!

But, what do you think? was it worth all the time and the effort? Have you ever thought in something which suppose must took few time, but extended it for so long? Let me see your answers below in the comments! ^w^


Fuente

Disclaimer: All the images are my own creation and belong to @faffy. Except the Minako and Usagi gif, which come from Giphy.com; and the guy with the wig, it was a picture given through whattsapp, by my friend @pavusdie.

Thanks a lot for watching my art piece and stay by. I hope you had liked my piece.!



This is the English version of this post Mando de Esgrimista - Pieza original digital.


Instagram DeviantArt Pivix



Sort:  

beautiful design

Thank you very much! I'm glad you like it.

Congratulations @faffy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82