The owl is not what it seemssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

One of the things I enjoy most is when I can sit with a project while talking to someone. This little Netsuke was made while my daughter was working on one of her projects so we could talk while both of us worked ![]() It is carved from Tagua nut and I made eyes out of tiny amber pieces. The front was polished and the backside was coloured with a small black dot, they where then glued in. ![]() This is my second netsuke and this time I got a little more confident, I experimented with coloring the surface and it gave a nice "antique" feel. ![]() I am quite pleased with the result I got this time around. I ended up mounting it on a string like a necklace, and now my son wears it for all his waking hours every day. Have a nice day and a merry christmas to you all. _____________

Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, [check out my introduction post here](https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@evilhippie/the-not-so-short-introduction-to-evilhippie) If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, [follow](https://steemit.com/@evilhippie) and resteem or you can check out these recent posts

[the one print]() [forging useful stuff](https://steemit.com/forging/@evilhippie/making-myself-useful)

Sort:  

Tegua nuts are interesting. Nice carving stuff I have heard, but you got to carve something out of something about the size of an egg, so it kind of leaves you a bit limited in what are good subjects to carve.

This little owl does a good job of using most of the nut.

they do pose some constraints on the size and shape. Thats why netsukes are a good choice, and the constraints can also help with inspiration for the shape, but yes it is limited. I have seen antique netsuke made from more than one nut, which was skillfully joined.

That is a pretty precise little carving. Nicely done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.93
ETH 3839.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67