Making Myself useful.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #forging7 years ago

Having a forge in your house is a really nice thing.

There are very few limits to what you can make and all of it in a very durable material,steel.

A couple of days ago I fired up the forge to make a small project that had been on my todo for far too long.

my youngest son needed a pair of hooks to hang his coat and schoolbag on. They are always lying around on the floor, which is quite annoying.

So i found a piece of square stock, forged a taper on it, made a nice scroll on the end. flattened the opposite end and gave it two holes for screws.

Then I bend the hook around, ground it on the benchgrinder and Voila! Two hooks finished. they are now mounted on the wall in his room, and the bag and coat ... are still lying on the floor :-)


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. if you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem

Sort:  

hehehe, that's happening to everyone then! Kids are kids, you know... If I had a cent for everytime I spent hours doing something for them and they looked the other way in just a few seconds... I would be rich now!

But, anyway, it is fascinating to have such things in your home and do whatever you need on your own. Same with the 3rd printer.

Yeah I kinda knew he would ignore them but, it was actually at his own request that I made them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44