Process of my self portrait in watercolor!

in #art6 years ago

B6C75D2E-95BE-42A7-8BB2-9D9F78BC6819.jpeg

This is a piece I created a couple of months ago using watercolors, ink, and color pencils. Its a fairly basic composition of myself and a small hummingbird in front of me with a blank background. I started this piece by taking a reference photo of the pose I wanted to use.
I changed the saturation of the photo to black and white because it helps me personally develop a better sense of the values.
I then proceed to sketch out the very basic outlines of my face.

68A61E88-EEA1-4CB8-BE5F-A96C466054E9.jpeg

B9EC2DC0-8662-4EBA-818B-6CD9D720BC22.jpeg

Once the sketch is complete I begin to apply a light wash of skin tone. With watercolors I generally work from the lightest values to the darkest. For some instances I have to let the layer dry before applying another one but there are also moments in which I work while its still damp.

31AB04E9-1A94-46C1-AF2F-DDF60219A20D.jpeg

AF13A4F6-561E-4EC8-97F3-3D70D25BF38B.jpeg

Once the watercolor layers have dried I outline it with a black ink pen and then start adding more detailed layers with color pencils. When I am satisfied with the way it looks I then add abstract patterns and lines on the entire portrait. I feel that doing this gives it some unique character and a sense of motion. When I completed the self portrait I added in a hummingbird just off of my imagination. I’ve drawn hummingbirds very often so the image is already engraved in my subconscious. I did the same process for the hummingbird, working from light to dark then outlining it with abstract lines.

6BA89FDA-BCED-46AC-9E6D-99AB0FE23F12.jpeg

And there you have it! A quick little preview into some of my mixed media art! I hope you have enjoyed seeing the process and I thank you for taking the time to go through my post! May you have a wonderful moment wherever you may be, one love!

-Eddie Martinez
E T E R N O

(Here is also another self portrait of mine but in graphite)
43498C34-FC16-454E-BF20-79872C594BD7.jpeg

Sort:  

What a Vibrant Style @eterno

You did well with your sketch and wash, but what really makes this image for me is the way you broke it up with contour. The abstractions you have made create a very nice movement in both your face and the hummingbird.

It is especially interesting on your face as it almost creates some type of rolling and shifting motion. Great Job

I like the drips from the hummingbird's wings. It is almost like a cascading flutter of the wings.

You've Been Featured

This post has been dubbed exceptional content by @helpie and featured in our weekly Fine Art Curation.
Click Here to see what the fuss is about and find other great content creators

FineArtCurationBanner2.png

What is Helpie?

Helpie is a new and unique educational community within Steemit, designed to help users that are creating quality content grow on the platform.

@Helpie is all about helping great content creators grow. That is why the content creators get the rewards from our curation posts.

Beautiful method!
I love the psychedelic patterns/geometry and abstractions in your drawings!

Thank you very much!

The hummingbird complimented your self-portrait perfectly! And the colours <3

Absolutely LOVE the pen and watercolour together. One of my favourite techniques too.

Prettyful~ You have such a dreamy manner in capturing things in your drawings, just gorgeous <3 <3 <3 Love the graphite piece, also <3 Wow, so talented !!!

I will follow~

upvotes

😰 ★good post....; 😰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45