My painting titled ‘The Encounter’ and how I pieced it together.

in #art6 years ago

89C3628B-9523-40E3-B15B-C9EBD4ADF26C.jpeg

Im going to share with you all the process behind one of my most recent acrylic paintings.
This was a spontaneous vision that came to me one night. Like most of my art I tend to see an image or a flash of an image in my mind and once I begin to paint it I begin to see more of that vision reveal itself. I dont like to pre define the meaning of what I paint because I truly believe that the meaning lies withing the many perspectives of each individual.

I first began by sketching out a Jaguar with a white charcoal pencil then adding the darker tones of paint and working up towards the lighter layers to give it that realistic look.
I am a self taught artist and most of my techniques I have learned from being very observant of nature.

1FE37FB8-2D17-4642-847C-E633559AD002.jpeg

C1AECAA6-E5CD-4726-B739-08FE2A1DBB87.jpeg

1270EF60-97C4-419C-9D67-442190D4B09D.jpeg

374528E7-6D85-47E9-A83C-EBBB698F8E5C.jpeg

Once I had that concept down on the canvas I envisioned a woman on the opposite end. I wanted her facing the Jaguar with an intense gaze. So I did the same process for her as well. I used reference images for both the Jaguar and the woman, I tend to either take my own photos or use some I come across the internet but I always manipulate them and paint them in my own way.

EEC78809-E228-4985-99CA-9DD80D78330F.jpeg
C7C4DFBE-B49F-40B3-A046-24EA8B0E62EF.jpeg
397EBC29-64DE-4ED4-BB4C-B16774AF162A.jpeg

Now that I had both sides looking the way I saw it in my mind it was time to add the center. I love painting in symmetry, It gives me a sense of balance and the things that manifest as I get more intricate with the detail always leaves me in awe. I start by drawing a line down the center and I expand from that line outward as symmetrical as I can then I just flow and let the paint be my guide. Paintings to me are invisible. Im the magician that makes them appear. But... they were already there, I was just the only one that could see it, so its my duty as a human to uncover them for others to see as well.
C114E2AF-3D79-4F37-99DC-02035BFB1812.jpeg
EA18550E-4840-421F-8C40-6F5AF5608C0B.jpeg

And here is the final product.

D8A0F57A-1E2F-4987-B2C2-AA596227297D.jpeg

I hope anyone that has taken the time to go through this post has enjoyed the process and the sneak peak into the way that I go about making art. I will drop down below some of my social media so that you can check out more of my work and I will try to be more consistent with posting on here.
Thank you very much and I hope you all have a wonderful moment wherever you may find yourself, one love!

  • Eddie Martinez
    E T E R N O

SOCIAL MEDIA:
https://www.instagram.com/think_the_unthinkable/

https://www.facebook.com/eddietheartist

https://www.twitter.com/eterno_333

Sort:  

I love your beautiful paintings so much, @eterno <3 Incredible detailing, rich colours, and such a deep emotive connections with the world <3 Gorgeous work !!!

Thank you very much!


Your post has been upvoted by CELF, a curation project for visual, plastic and performing arts, music, and literature, we will share it so it can receive more upvotes :). Drop by at our discord server!: https://discord.gg/fC5jcDF


Hello @eterno, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

This looks like a collage of some many different exceptional works, and finally you have something like a masterpiece, abstract yet realistic.. Love this totally..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! It sure is like putting a collage together.

Amazing piece of art :)

Excelente obra, es dinámica y creativa, exitos, saludos

Muchas gracias!

This is an amazing artwork! And I really enjoyed the way you talk about it, and like you I also think that the meaning of a piece of art lies withing the perspectives of each individual, that's a cool thing about art! So those are wise words! I think you're very skilled and that's great as knowing you're a self-taught artist! Amazing work!

** This post will be proposed to be curated by the @celfmagazine project**

This painting is so realistic and your colours are so vibrant. Love your artwork!

Thank you! I always go for a vibrant, almost glowing effect! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @eterno! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26