My current painting project: "Remisteria" (and the meaning of it) Day 2 oil on canvas

in #art7 years ago

"Remisteria"

(Day 2 progress painting, 24 x 36 oil on canvas)

IMG_2600.jpg

i was commissioned by a co-worker to make a masterpiece of her favorite plant, and that is the Wisteria plant, it comes in different colors and its looks very beautiful. i just gathered all her idea in mind and all the designs that she want in a painting, and made its customized to her likings, and i just added a few of my ideas, and i like it better when a client is very clear of what they like as suppose to just letting me decide, i would love that too, specially if I'm making a painting for my family or as a collection. But if its to be displayed to a home and a specially made painting, its better if they are specific with what they want, with this piece you might be wondering why "Remisteria" first of all her name is Remy + her love for Wisteria, and as what she described, she want a landscape with waterfalls, mountains, lots of trees, and she wanted to be reminded of her home in the Philippines, complete with a "Bahay Kubo" so in that case, that painting is already clear in my mind, and its kinda locked up image that is ready to be made and sketched. Here is my Day 1 progress for this painting, please view it if you have the time. https://steemit.com/art/@errymil/next-painting-project-remisteria-day-1-sketching-and-first-layer-of-oil-painting
purple-wisteria-2.jpg
image from google and this is an example of how a Wisteria plant looks like.

Wisteria: Symbolism and Meaning

This plant and flower comes indifferent colors, white, purple, blue and is full of mystery and beauty its a sweet scented tree and a vine flower as well. It usually grows in Eastern part of the US and some part in Asia. Some cultures symbolize this plant as:

  • As a Good Luck Specially when starting a business or a new marriage
  • Welcoming someone to a new town or home
  • Celebrating a vitality of a young friend or child
  • Expressing your affection after meeting someone for the first time
  • New Birth and Spring Birthdays
    And depending on the color of the flower the meanings may vary
  • Pink for baby girl and blossoming a feeling of love
  • White for weddings and good luck
  • Blue for auspicious beginnings or new ventures
    Overall the message behind this plant is to let good luck make your adventures a little smoother, celebrating the new beginnings of life instead of focusing on the endings.

Thats is a very inspiring message from such a beautiful-plant. i wish i had one in my yard, but it mostly grows in the east side, or in some parts of Asia. and i could not wait till tonight so i an at least finish with all the Wisteria trees. i will use all three colors for this painting, as you can see a blacked out all the trees, i usually start that way because it makes colors more vibrant, with a black background the light easily shows up.

Here is my process

IMG_8962.jpg
Started with and idea, and Sketched it to lock the image in my mind
U5dtMAqtfAP1KpqRLmKDSzwacivkoUb_1680x8400.jpeg
prepped by canvas and applied a thick gesso using my template of the flower of life, in order to emboss the image
IMG_2443.jpg
made my background first, starting with the skies and clouds, then a mountain that reminded me of Mt Mayon Volcano then covered the whole canvas with black paint, then made a background of the fog and mist areas_
IMG_2462.jpg
then blacked the foreground, and made few adjustment with the falls and the background trees on top of the mountain
IMG_2600.jpg
added a lot of green trees for the background, and i love how the waterfall turned out, it literally glows from a far., funny my kids wanted me to place some dinosaurs in the painting, well it kinda looks like land before time hehe

U5ds8DzcsBwrYdQELS1G1b7GRg7bE11_1680x8400.png

At this point Day 2 is done, thank you for viewing my Art Blog, hope you stay tuned for more, and this is almost done, i wound give 2 more days and its should be ready.

U5ds8DzcsBwrYdQELS1G1b7GRg7bE11_1680x8400.png
U5drwSryavo6HYt2JNNiU2HUQ35K5DS_1680x8400.jpeg
U5dqwH4q227JXZ1JwEMMjxPDiU91dZm_1680x8400.jpeg
U5druChFkFAiWV7UtJRij2cDshScA1i.gif

DQmNuF3L71zzxAyJB7Lk37yBqjBRo2uafTAudFDLzsoRV5L.gif

Sort:  

Wow amazing i love arts you paint great keep posting i really like your posts check my arts in my room20180205_214508.jpg

Thanks i will check it out

one word... amaizing..there is a huge different between first version and final version..good job friend.

Thank you @steemitci, its better on the day 3, and can wait to finish it

Oh wow! Man this is my absolute favorite so far! I would defititly hang this one on my wall. What a beautiful landscape.

Thanks man! It is beautiful indeed, almost done, and the owner for sure would be happy

wow, great work! You're doing really a great work on this painting ^_^

Thank you @silverbeneforti I appreciate your feedback!🙏🏻

fantastic! I can just imagine walking along that river when I close my eyes... Do I see a little bit of Bob Ross in that painting? ;)

Thanks @gulugu, yes bob ross is my idol and I always incorporate what i learned fromhim in my paintings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49