Decorating Easter Eggs - DIY Step-By-Step Tutorial

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Decorating Easter eggs is an old tradition in many countries and it differs not only from country to country but also from region to region. Transylvania has a nice egg decorating tradition, kept alive for centuries, which unfortunately are going to disappear in bit cities but I hope will live in villages.

I've been planning to decorate some eggs this year the old fashion way and also to try out a technique that is very interesting. The other reason I wanted to do this is to give my niece a chance to see how this is done. She's a creative person too and likes these things, also I believe she has to learn Easter egg decoration.

We had out first attempt last week, which failed unfortunately. The technique we wanted to use involves a special marker which you can't just buy from the store, it needs to be created manually. I found a YouTube video and followed the instructions but the marker I created was not suitable for the task.

Yesterday we got together again and decided to decorate eggs using leaves and onion peels, which is also a very old tradition. I prefer to keep it healthy, that's why I'm using onion peals, no chemicals. Believe me, it does the job, no need to buy dye from the shop. I admit, you can only get one color but that's fine, I have no problem with that.

IMG_20190422_172148a.jpg

Here's the process.

IMG_20190422_143859a.jpg

Cooked the eggs and let them cool off. Put the leaves in water, then place it on the egg and make sure there are no wrinkles, the leaf is nicely sticking to the eggshell.

IMG_20190422_145659a.jpg

Wrap it in stockings and stretch it till it's tight, tie it on the other end with a string.

IMG_20190422_150513a.jpg

Put the onion peels in a pot. You can use any kind of onion peels, red, yellow, whatever you have it's fine. If you want a darker color, make sure you use more red.

IMG_20190422_151215a.jpg

Place the eggs on the onion peel bed, cover with more onion peals and fill the pot with water. Let it cook for at least 20 minutes, then let it stay in the water for 1 or 2 hours. Cut the stockings, take the eggs out, clean them with a paper towel and use a bit of fat or oil to make them shiny.

IMG_20190422_172231a.jpg

If you do it right, the spot where the leaf was remains lighter and the rest should be dark red, colored by the onion peel.

IMG_20190422_172221a.jpg

I'm not exactly proud of the result, we could have done a better job but I'm glad the leaf is still visible.
It's advisable to use white eggs for a much better result but the problem is, you can't find white eggs here, I have no idea why. A few month ago I bought some gut the eggshells were so fragile, I broke one when unpacked them.

IMG_20180401_173730a.jpg

If you don't want to go through all the hustle with the leaves, you can cook the eggs with the onion peels and you get some eggs like in the photo above, which was taken last year when I dyed eggs just with onion peals, without using leaves or any other stencil.

Now you're probably asking why on earth would I go through this process when you can buy all kind of eggs already decorated and can also buy egg dye kits, which is true. However, I prefer natural dye as it's more healthier. Not once I've seen the egg inside colored or when I tried to peal the eggs, my hand got red or whatever the color the egg was. I can guarantee you, this onion dye won't transfer from the eggs to your hand.

lead_800x450.jpg
source

I've selected the image above to show you what can you do if you do it right. Aren't those eggs beautiful? The source says you can use red cabbage leaves along with the onion peels. Cabbage can also be a nice source of natural color, I'm going to try it out next time for sure. I need to learn to do it right.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

They look great and I like the red color from the onion skins. You are very creative. At least you have supper ready now.

Thank you @cryptoandcoffee 😁 This wasn't for supper, these eggs supposed to be given to men who are visiting women, it's an old tradition but it's not respected any more. Men don't visit women any more, maybe in the countryside. Eggs on the other hand are trendy :)

I like posts such as this, showing the "old way" of doing things! The results are quite striking! I had never seen anything like this under just a day or so ago, and was glad to learn how it is done! Kudos for sharing the technique! 😃

I'm glad you like it, this is old school indeed :) You're welcome, have a nice day!

Hi @erikah !
Thanks for your lovely post, that's actually how we used to do it at home when we were little (in Lithuania) and I also still colour the Easter eggs with onion peel, exactly how you described :D the only thing is I don't precook the eggs.
I also love this way of colouring, because it's quick and natural :D

I think it's common in Europe, I believe many countries have this tradition. It's easy, cheap and ecological :)

True!!! I have lots of friends from different Eastern European countries who have this tradition. While in Western Europe people seem to stick to chocolate eggs :DDD

It's easier to buy chocolate eggs and those have a different taste 😁

That's for sure! I suppose lots of traditions get changed over the years just because it's easier to buy things from the shops...

Unfortunately you're right. Life is a rush and we don't have time for things like these.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by erikah from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you!

You got a 20.76% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 35 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I really appreciate it.

Happy Easter!

Happy Easter to you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76