Save/As #004 : A Weekly Creative Boost from the Artists I Love

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Save-As_Thumbnail_004-01.png

When my creativity hits a wall, I look for inspiration in the work of the artists I love. For years, every time I see something that grabs my attention online, I right-click on the image and "Save As" into an ever-growing folder titled INSPIRATION. Now, as a means of keeping all of our creative juices flowing, I will randomly select ten images from my folder every week and share them here with you. I encourage you to follow the links to see more of each artist's work - there is always much more inspiration to be discovered!

Save-As_TitleBlocks_004-01.png

BonetClarissa_02.jpg

Perpetual Shadow
Photograph | 2017
^ Clarissa Bonet ^


Feixen_01.jpg

Au Revoir Simone
Graphic Design | 2013
^ Studio Feixen ^


FotaVictor_08.jpg

Certain Kind of Solitude 3
Oil on canvas | 2015
^ Victor Fota ^


GeographicAtlasOfTheMoon_01.jpg

Geographic Map of the South Side of the Moon
Geological Survey | 1979
^ USGS Geologic Atlas of the Moon ^


JudsonPeter_02.jpg

Wicker from "I Wander" series
Illustration based on iPhone photo | 2017
^ Peter Judson ^


KapteinPaul_01.jpg

Mute Figure #1
Hand carved wood | 2015
^ Paul Kaptein ^


NgoTom_03.jpg

Split-Level
Pencil on paper | 2010
^ Tom Ngo ^


NomataMinoru_07.jpg

Alternative Sights-2
Acrylic on canvas | 2010
^ Minoru Nomata ^


PibiPaolo_01.jpg

Fake Golden Circle
Acrylic on canvas
^ Paolo Pibi ^


RenartPierre.png

Wave Walnut Desk
North American walnut
^ Pierre Renart ^


Save-As_TitleBlocks_004-02.png

To "Save" a file implies keeping it as you found it. To "Save As" is to change it, to re-make it, to find something new that wasn't there before. There is an important distinction between plagiarizing someone else's work, and using it to unlock something in your own mind. In this section I will use the above images to unlock my creativity and see what comes out.

Every week, I will challenge myself to fill an entire page of my sketchbook with stream-of-consciousness ideas inspired by the images above. I challenge you to do the same! Feel free to share your thoughts and sketches in the comments below. My sketches will be quick and messy, and mostly futile, but every once in a while I hope a new and exciting idea finds its way onto the page.


This week I was most inspired by Paul Kaptein's hand-carved wood sculpture and Minoru Nomata's architectural paintings. I tried to apply some of their incredible stylistic elements to my Gazebo and furniture designs.

saveas004_sketches.jpg

If there's an artist/architect/designer whose work you find particularly inspiring, feel free to share their work in the comments below for consideration in future posts. Please do not share your own work, only the work of people who inspire you. Thanks for reading this edition of Save/As! Please resteem to share this resource with your fellow creative Steemians.


- Previous Editions -
#001 | #002 | #003

Save-As_FooterLogo-01.png

follow-erb.gif

Sort:  

Whoa @erb, everytime I check on your posts I can be sure of two things that I will find in them: mind-blowing contemporary art and some elegant vibe of yours. Fantastic compilation!

Wow thanks so much for the support @shinyforest! Really happy you like what you're finding here.

Visiting Pierre Renart´s website asap, that wave desk is 😮!

Yes he's amazing! Glad you like it. I only recently discovered his work and was amazed by the ways he uses wood.

Minoru Nomata's always got an element of fascination in his works. That's the one I like most. I really enjoy your SaveAs posts. I was too busy moving and setting up but I remember thinking to myself last week when you posted your previous Save As post that I should really revisit all my folders tagged Ctrl+S and take your challenge up!

Minoru Nomata is incredible. Yes I would love to see what you've saved as well!

I keep files in my documents folder of my computer with images of work that inspires me for some reason. Sometimes it's the color, or the composition ,interesting brush work, or a novel idea. I add to it regularly.

I love it !

Glad to hear it @mintvilla!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16