Drawing with the laptop's touchpad | The Witch + Timelapse Video

in #art7 years ago

My first digital drawing in 2018

The last time I did digital drawing was... four months ago. Steemit was witness to that. Tonight, I decided to try my hand once again on drawing anime digitally. I have already before shared my first traditional portrait drawing in 2018, so I felt like it's high time I share my first digital drawing this year.


I'd been meaning to draw a witch for October since 2014, but I never really got to finish one. Today, I just did.

With my laptop's touchpad

Drawn with my laptop's touchpad, because graphic tablets are too mainstream. Kidding. I just really don't have one, and while I did have one, it self-destruct in under three months (kidding again; I was careless and broke the stylus). 

Of course, this is not without a cheat! Earlier... err, yesterday work, I got spare time (a little too many) and got my hands working. It was without any particular topic in mind, but somehow I ended up with an anime witch. I still don't have a name for her yet.

Important to note: this one though was heavily inspired by an anime drawing of a witch I'd seen years ago, which I couldn't seem to find right now. 

Anyway. This is basically how it went:

  1. I sketched aimlessly on a piece of paper.
  2. Inked the sketch for more visibility; then took a photo with my phone.
  3. Imported the image to my laptop and did the lineart on Paint Tool SAI. To make drawing with touchpad possible, I made use of SAI's linework layers (which allows users to utilize the pen tool).
  4. Imported the file to Adobe Photoshop and did the colors. Basically, tools used were:
    1. Wand tool
    2. Fill tool
    3. Brush tool
    4. Pen tool

It feels awesome

It feels extra awesome to be able to draw this way again: a breath of fresh air, as they say. Most of the time after work, I'd feel like crawling my way up to my bed. Once in bed, I'd have a hard time lifting up even a finger. And yup, I'd fall asleep fast.

Finishing this makes me feel extraordinary, like I'd done something I'm very proud of. I defeated my stress tonight, and enjoyed drawing again. Never mind that it took me 3 hours and a half. No less.

And since it's half past 12 midnight here in the Philippines, you bet I'd be sleepy at work tomorrow. Hah. I don't think I'd care. I feel awesome right now.

The timelapse video

I'm really loving timelapse videos! Below is the speedpainting video for this drawing. 

UHM. Please excuse the part where there are pauses. They were literally times when I paused for, like, fifteen minutes, because I was busy chatting with friends on the phone. Hehe.

Sort:  

amazing art work Aira! You should make a tutorial about this in the next post! :D

Thanks! I might do that, perhaps one of these days. 😁

Please do Aira, I'd like to learn more on the pen tool usage & shading. hehe This will be very helpful to everyone (including me) who follow your art :-)

beautiful artwork!

Love this @erangvee. Do you have a portfolio?

Thanks, @raizel! Uhm, would a deviantART account suffice as portfolio? 😅

Loading...

And that’s amazing! Haven’t you thought of using that talent as a profession?

Thaaaank you @virgo27! 😁 I did consider arts for a career, but formal training education re: arts is crazy expensive. Regardless, I still enjoy drawing as a past time. ❤

Oh really ... didn’t realize that it is very expensive, good thing your enjoying ur free time doing it. Though seldom you will find talent like urs, it’s already there, sayang nmn! Paging @arrliinnn 😂

Awesome post! I invite you to visit our blog and vote us back! And of course to enjoy our content :)

Wow! Teach me senpai 🙏🏻 you're so good at everything you do. (May bolang kasama loljk) Looking forward to see more of your artworks 👍🏻

HAHAHAH Thank youuuu 😍❤

Ganda, draw pa more. :)

YEY THANK YOU! 💕

Wow, its cool)

Hey there artist, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I love your drawings.
I love Japanese anime.

Hello, a Batanguenyo here.
Musta po?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45