My first portrait of 2018 + Timelapse Video | A Work in Progress

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I so badly wanted to draw.

Many times in the past few days, I grabbed my pencils and sketchpad to be able to get something out from my brain, which couldn't seem to sit still -- to no avail. The last day of 2017 passed and a new week of 2018 has entered, but I haven't drawn anything relatively good, in my opinion.

I took up a science degree in college because I thought the arts wasn't for me (besides the thought that, Hey, you can still draw anytime you like even when you're a scientist!). 'Art-block' seriously drags me down; when my creative juices are at a negative, you can't expect me to come up with something in the following weeks... and sometimes, months.

So last Saturday night, I forced myself to draw until dawn (literally). 


It was 9 in the evening when I couldn't help my irrational impulse - I got up from bed and began to draw.

Please excuse my bad camera skills; I didn't have the time to scan the unfinished work. At any rate, can you guess who I was actually trying to draw?

I ended up drawing until nearly 3 AM and sported an annoying headache the rest of Sunday. To be honest, I am not exactly proud of this drawing, hence, I decided to share it before I actually found the urge to throw it away.

Drawing my first portrait in 2018

You know when you're so sure it's just a normal day, but a nagging feeling tells you it's special because duuude, it's 2018! That was exactly what I felt while I was drawing this. The calendar has changed yet again, and I felt compelled to draw (I was literally pressuring myself). 

The past year has taught me so many things, and what better way to start the New Year but by applying these?

Materials used

  • Faber Castell Classic Colour Pencils
  • vellum board
  • pencil and ruler

Last year, too, I got to try out timelapse videos! And yup, in this post, I'm going to share another timelapse video of me drawing traditionally. It took me a long time to compile (I could have sworn that my laptop was complaining already), but finally after eons, here it is! 

This year, I vow to improve.

Sure, I learned a lot in the past year. But this year, I promise that what I've learned last year, I will double the quality. I will practice as much as I could, and learn more than I could. I love science and computers, but my first love will always be in the arts.

Sort:  

As a non artist i cant even imagine the effort put into dis work. I see plenty talents in it

Comments like this reassure me that my efforts are not in vain. Thank you so much, @jazminedavid! ❤️️

You got an awesome drawing skills. I wanna be an artist to but I guess it's not for me. Thanks for making me smile tonight :)

Wow! you're smart and gifted what I can say! :*

You have a tallent po kabayan. both writing and drawing.

Galing naman this girl😊

I loved your drawing. I think you have enough talent😉

Ang anda syempre :D

Wow. blessed with good hands. I don't know how draw or paint but it's my dream :) keep it up . you have such good talent

The hair 😭 I wish I could draw a hair like that 😢

The purpose of this drawing was actually to learn how to draw hair better. 😭 I plan to practice more hair drawing, but I'm having such a hard time lookimg for good photos to practoce on. 😕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44