Digitizing a Traditional Drawing | Time-lapse Drawing

in #art7 years ago

It has been a really long time since I last posted anything. From an everyday posting routine, it slowed down into once every 2 or 3 days, to none at all. The sun, the moon, and even the stars definitely saw how occupied I was the last couple of days. Life had caught up to me so bad that I couldn't even find the will to pull out a pencil and begin to draw.

Today, in an attempt to even remotely show that I am indeed alive, here's a quick post about one of my old works. Rest assured that a brand new content will come in the coming days, but for now, let me present to you Faith.

The Girl Named Faith

Faith is a character from a book that a friend of mine had written. As a gift for her overwhelming support on my art and writing, I decided to do a fanart of her book character.

It was originally a traditional drawing (as you can see at the right) which I drew September last year. For the traditional art, I used three ink pens of different points -- 0.3, 0.4, and 0.5 -- all of which I borrowed from my friends because I'm poor. It was drawn on a thick manila paper.

Digitizing Faith

A few days after finishing the drawing, I decided I wanted to do a time-lapse video of me doing a digital drawing. I'd always wanted to make one, but I always made excuses not to.

You can draw digitally even without tablet.

One reason I decided to do this, too, was because I wanted to let a couple of friends (who wanted to try digital drawing) know that a tablet is not a complete necessity in digital arts. You can actually survive with just your laptop's touchpad or a mouse.

All you need is Photoshop's pen tool... and a whole load of patience.

The drawing

Lineart and Colors: Adobe Photoshop CS 6 (and its glorious pen tool!)

A side note

I'm encouraging all Pinoys out there (and Pinoys at heart, who help promote Filipino community growth here on this platform)  to use the tags #philippines for English posts and #pilipinas for posts of any Filipino dialect. Pagbuklud-buklurin natin ang mga Pilipinong Steemians at sabay-sabay tayong umunlad bilang isang komunidad. 😊 Para sa karagdagang impormasyon pa, basahin ito.

Felt weird suddenly inserting a Filipino statement up there. Haha.

Sort:  

Awesomeness! <3 Paturo digi-arts senpai! hihihi... I dunno how to use photoshop! T_T cries in anime accent

Di nga... it's really good! Sarap sa mata... :) I have a loooooong way to go, but I'll enjoy the way. Long time no see Aira! :D

Naging awesome ninja upvoter ako the past week HAHAHAHA. Hanggang pa-ninja ninja na lang ako 😭 Happy to somehow come up with a post. 😂😂😂

Anywayyy, madaming magandang tutorials sa Youtube! Start with the pen tool para kahit mouse/touchpad lang kasi mejjj pricey talaga ang tablets. CHECK ME OUT, SENPAI! Not exactly how I do it, but it's a start.

haha... ninja power! ^^ at least, you feel like a part of konoha that way... #perks

Will check them some time in the future.. I don't even have photoshop to start with.. so for now, I'll still with the smartphone app..

the link you shared doesn't play, but will look at similar vids... thankies Aira! 😘😘😘

That's some outstanding artwork, her hair is especially impressive! Thanks for posting, @erangvee.

Thanks so much, @deimus! I'm glad you found the hair impressive -- I seriously finding drawing the hair hard. 😅 Thanks again, and have a great day.

Oh wow that looks amazing, thank you!

Love it! Beautiful

Thank you, @airmatti! 😊

Hi @erangvee! Excellent work. Upvoted!
Have you ever tried Krita? It has excellent illustration tools as well as vector and animation features. It is Open Source, which means it is free to download and use, for Windows, Mac and Linux.

Thank you so much, @leoplaw. 😊 No, I haven't even heard of Krita, thanks for letting me know. I'll definitely give it a try. 👍 (Looks like it's going to be something I'll really grow to like, based on the site you provided. Thanks!) 😁

There are heaps of tutorials and a very active and supportive community. Have fun! =)

Yeah, I've tried using it and it looks promising. Thanks again! 😁

Excellent! You're welcome. =)

Beautiful drawing! She's very cute. I'm totally impressed that you could digitalise it with only the touch pad and mouse. I would use a cheap bamboo tablet for work on computer. You rocked it! Resteemed!

Thanks a lot, @jrej! 😊 I broke my own Genius graphic tablet three months after having been gifted with it. 😭 Because of that incident, I was basically punishing myself with drawing with touchpad/mouse. Haha. Thank you for dropping by! You're an awesome artist yourself. 😊

@erangvee, it takes a real creative juice to come up with such an art, great work!

Thank you so much, @lemonchum! 😊

Ang galing ko.

O, e di wow. 😂

You are young and awesome and you know it

That means a lot, @surpassinggoogle. 😊 Thank you. I try to utilize what I have and what I can do the best way I can. And I'm glad that it seems you saw through that. 😊

If patience is worth anything, it must endure to the end of time. And a living faith will last in the midst of the blackest storm.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Agreed. Thank you, @wise-old-man! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65974.40
ETH 2637.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67