You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Improving You Posts and Getting Noticed- Artists Edition

in #art6 years ago

I don't know how I missed this jewel of a post 3 months ago! It is now saved to bookmarks for future reference. Some future steemian will surely find some useful information here (I know I did).

You are awesome, @ kristyglas!!

Sort:  

Thank you! I plan to make a shorter version sometime soon. Something like a list to tick off when making a post :D New tips suggestions are very welcome ^^

I will keep that in consideration ☺

Just curious, which of the tips is new to you? :D

The tips that stood out specifically are:

Make a small fictional backstory to form an attachment with the audience.

Talking about what inspires my work hasn't always been easy. A story seems like a good substitution for describing the process in those cases.

Avoid angling your camera as this distorts image and makes it harder to see.

I'm almost certain I'm guilty of doing that for every post! For some reason I felt it's what the people wanted. ((` ε '))


Another thing I'm always on the fence about is how to far 'stray' outside of art-related content. I feel like I'm too "random" when I post non-art. So I go through stages of many resteems and no original posts when I'm working on non-art things like cooking, rhyming, nature walking, and so forth.

Ah, and one tip to add just came to mind: posting art in another person's post about their art without discussing how it relates to that other person's art is sometimes seen as rude or unwelcome behavior.

Thanks for feedback :D
The angle one tip I meant for 2D art mostly. For 3D art it is usually recommended to do a 3/4 view. Also angled pictures look cool, but I think it's important to also have a straightforward clear photo :)
For non art posts, I recommend adding a bit of artistic flavor. This can be a very quick sketch, some fancy personally made separators, or personally taken photos.
You can always ask your followers about which non art content they are interested to read about.
I'll definitelly add your tip. I haven't seen many comments like that myself, but it should help those starting out who are actively looking for followers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64657.99
ETH 3153.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59